مهرجانات الطعام

هل يمكن لمهرجانات الطعام أن تساعد في حماية الأطعمة المحلية؟

يعد الطعام أحد أكبر مكونات التجارب الثقافية التي تبهج السائحين في كل وجهة. كل وجهة لها مذاقها الفريد والفريد وجوهرها وقصصها التي تقدمها من خلال المأكولات والمشروبات وأنماط الطهي المحلية. يتأثر هذا التنوع بالفروق الإقليمية أكثر من تأثره بالفصل بين البلدان والمناطق المحددة على الخريطة.

يعرف كتاب روبرت ثاير "Life-Place: Bioregional Thought and Practice" المناطق الحيوية بشكل طبيعي وليس من خلال الحدود الاقتصادية أو السياسية. المناطق الحيوية هي ظواهر مستوطنة تؤثر بشكل مباشر على أنظمة الغذاء الوجهة. يمكن للمجتمعات استخدام النظم الغذائية لدفع نموها المستدام. لكن مع العولمة ، تتعرض الأطعمة والأنظمة الغذائية المحلية لضغوط وتخضع للتغيير ، بشكل كبير في بعض الأحيان.

يعد استنفاد التنوع البيولوجي تهديدًا هائلاً لقيمة السلسلة الغذائية للوجهة وثقافتها الغذائية الشاملة. أثناء التفكير في هذه المواقف ، يمكن أن يؤدي وجود مهرجانات الطعام في الوجهات إلى إحداث تغيير إيجابي من خلال المشاركة بشكل استباقي مع أصحاب المصلحة المحليين.

في World Food Travel Association، نحن نسعى باستمرار لمساعدة الشركات والوجهات على تعزيز مستقبلهم المستدام من خلال سياحة الأغذية والمشروبات. لدعم أهدافنا ، اخترنا موضوع الاستدامة لقمة FoodTrex العالمية القادمة يومي 15 و 16 أبريل.

غالبًا ما تكون مهرجانات الطعام مركزًا للبهجة وشيء يتخيله العديد من السياح أينما ذهبوا. هم أكثر من مجرد مكان للحصول على شيء ما للأكل. يمكن أن تكون أيضًا وسيلة لتقديم ثقافة الطهي في الوجهة. يزداد وعي السياح بالمسؤولية في السياحة ، ويحملون معهم توقعاتهم عندما يسافرون. تجعل هذه العقلية مهرجانات الطعام مكانًا يمكنهم فيه الحصول على الأطعمة المنتجة محليًا أو من مصادر محلية ، وغالبًا ما تكون عضوية أو موسمية ، وتعلم شيئًا عن تقنيات الطهي التقليدية أيضًا. بعبارة أخرى ، يمكن لمهرجانات الطهي ، إذا تم القيام بها بشكل صحيح ، أن ترضي الاهتمام الجديد بالمسؤولية التي يطلبها المستهلكون.

بصرف النظر عن أنشطة سياحة الطهي الأخرى ، يمكن لمهرجانات الطعام أن تنمي الاستدامة من خلال المساعدة في وجهات ذات العلامات التجارية. يقدمون الأطعمة المحلية للسياح من خلال تثقيفهم وخلق انطباع يجعلهم يرغبون في العودة إلى المنطقة. وهذا يعطي مزيدًا من الاهتمام والأولوية للأغذية الإقليمية ، ويعطي المزيد من الأسباب لأصحاب المصلحة لحماية نظمهم الغذائية المحلية من خلال زيادة الاستثمار في إنتاجهم الغذائي المستدام والمحلي.

المهرجانات مثل Cuyahoga County Food Fair (في أوهايو ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) ، توازن بين مطالب السياح دون المساومة على الاستدامة من خلال تقديم مجموعة متنوعة من الأطعمة المحلية من المنطقة المحيطة. وبالمثل ، أنشأ الدكتور فرانغ روي ، رئيس جمعية شمال شرق الأغذية البطيئة والتنوع الزراعي ، مهرجان مي راميو (ميغالايا ، الهند) كجزء من حركة الأغذية البطيئة. في هذا المهرجان ، يعمل المجتمع المحلي والأصلي والمزارعون والطهاة معًا للحفاظ على الأطعمة الإقليمية وأنماط الطهي للأجيال القادمة. في المهرجان ، تجتمع 250 قبيلة أو نحو ذلك معًا لعرض فخرهم في الطهي. لا يمكن أن ينتج مهرجان الطعام الناجح من قبل المجتمع وحده. يتطلب ذلك من مؤسسات تسويق الوجهة والحكومات وقطاع السياحة والضيافة بأكمله دمج وفهم المنطقة الحيوية ككل ، وتخطيط استراتيجية لتحقيق نمو ناجح ومستدام.

في قمة FoodTreX العالمية الشهر المقبل ، قمنا بجمع اثنين من الخبراء الذين سيرشدونك خلال تجربتهم ودراسات الحالة. تريسي بيرنو عميد مشارك للدراسات العليا وأستاذ مشارك في جامعة أوكلاند للتكنولوجيا بنيوزيلندا. وهي أيضًا مؤسسة ومديرة مشروع Pacific Food Lab-Aotearoa وتعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع Gabriel Levionnois ، مؤسس ومدير مشروع Pacific Food Lab في نيو كاليدونيا ، في العديد من مشاريع النظم الغذائية المستدامة. غابرييل هو أيضًا طاهٍ فرنسي تاهيتي وصاحب مطعم ورجل أعمال اجتماعي. يشترك كل من تريسي وغابرييل في شغفهما بأنظمة الغذاء المحلية المستدامة وثقافات الطهي المحلية. احضر FoodTreX Global واحصل على أفكار حول كيفية العمل مع منتجي الطعام المحليين والمهرجانات في وجهتك.

انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد عن هذه الجلسة وللتسجيل في قمة FoodTrex العالمية.

بقلم نيفيثيثا بهاراتي. حررت بواسطة Erik Wolf.

حصة في الفيسبوك
حصة على التغريد
حصة على LinkedIn
حصة على بينتيريست

food festivals

Can Food Festivals Help Protect Local Foods?

Food is one of the greatest components of the cultural experiences that delight tourists in every destination. Each destination has its unique and individual taste, essence and stories to offer through its local food, beverages and culinary styles. This diversity is influenced more by bioregional distinctions than by the separation of countries and regions delineated on a map.

Robert Thayer’s book “Life-Place: Bioregional Thought and Practice” defines bioregions naturally rather than by economic or political boundaries. Bioregions are endemic phenomena that directly influence destination food systems. Communities can use food systems to drive their sustainable growth. Yet with globalisation, local foods and food systems come under pressure and are subject to change, sometimes dramatically.

The depletion of biodiversity is an immense threat to the value of a destination’s food chain and its holistic food culture. While contemplating these situations, the presence of food festivals in destinations can actually drive positive change by engaging proactively with local stakeholders.

At the World Food Travel Association, we continuously strive to help businesses and destinations to promote their own sustainable futures through food and beverage tourism. To support our goals, we have chosen the theme of sustainability for our upcoming FoodTrex Global Summit on April 15-16.

Food festivals are often a hub of joy and something many tourists fancy experiencing wherever they go. They are more than just a place to get something to eat. They can also be a way to present the destination’s culinary culture. Tourists are increasingly conscious of responsibility in tourism, and they bring their expectations with them when they travel. This mindset makes food festivals a place where they can get locally sourced or produced foods, often organic or seasonal, and learn something about traditional culinary techniques as well. In other words, done right, culinary festivals can satisfy the new interest in responsibility that consumers demand.

Apart from other culinary tourism activities, food festivals can grow sustainability by helping to brand destinations. They introduce local foods to tourists by educating them and creating an impression which makes them want to return to the area. This puts more attention and priority on regional foods, and gives more reasons for stakeholders to protect their local food systems by investing more in their own sustainable and local food production.

Festivals like the Cuyahoga County Food Fair (in Ohio, USA), balance tourists’ demands without compromising sustainability by offering a wide variety of local foods from the surrounding area. Similarly, Dr Phrang Roy, Chairman of North East Slow Food and Agrobiodiversity Society, created the festival Mei Ramew (Meghalaya, India) as a part of the Slow Food movement. In this festival, the local and indigenous community, farmers, and chefs work together to preserve their bioregional foods and cooking styles for future generations. In the festival, 250 or so tribes gather together to showcase their culinary pride. A successful food festival cannot be produced by the community alone. It requires destination marketing organizations, governments, and the entire tourism and hospitality sector to integrate and understand the bioregion as a whole, and plan a strategy for successful, sustainable growth.

At next month’s FoodTreX Global Summit, we have brought together two experts who will guide you through their experience and case studies. Tracy Berno is Associate Dean Postgraduate and Associate Professor at Auckland University of Technology in New Zealand. She is also the founder and Project Manager of Pacific Food Lab-Aotearoa and works along with Gabriel Levionnois, the founder and Project Manager of Pacific Food Lab in New Caledonia, on multiple sustainable food system projects. Gabriel is also a French-Tahitian chef, restauranteur, and social entrepreneur. Both Tracy and Gabriel share a passion for sustainable local food systems and local culinary cultures. Attend FoodTreX Global and get ideas on how you can work with local food producers and festivals in your destination.

Click here to learn more about this session and to register for FoodTrex Global Summit.

Written by Nivethitha Bharathi. Edited by Erik Wolf.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest