Ashwani Bhati巡回演出

认识印度的Ashwani Bhati

认识印度世界粮食旅行协会的新任下任大使Ashwani Bhati。 下面的采访 最早发布于Asia Travel Re:Set.

Ashwani Bhati是印度美食之旅的经理,还是世界美食旅行协会的初级大使。

在成为圣雄甘地圣公会志愿人员之前,他是一名机械工程师,就职于一家手机制造商。 与导游的偶然会面改变了他的生活。 他完成了旅游和旅行管理的MBA学位,并开始了新的旅行指南。 

直到2020年5月,业务发展良好。Ashwani最近进行了为期XNUMX个月的首次访问。

本周,我们聊了聊他对德里的热爱,他对文化旅行的热情以及他在大流行时代对旅游业的个人思考。

-----

您为什么放弃工程学作为导游?

印度有一种文化,认为教育是前进的道路,我们的父母希望我们成为律师,医生或工程师。 我获得了学位,并且在三星手机制造商工作。 钱还不错,但我想要其他东西。 我于2017年辞职,并自愿在Gandhi Ashram教孩子们。 那是我一生中最好的经历。 这真的改变了我。 我遇到了一位导游的女士。 她告诉我一些有趣的故事,我知道那是我想要做的。

我开始从事旅游业,但是我想学习一个硕士学位,以使自己满意。

您是如何找到您的第一批客户的?

在学习期间,我担任自由指南。 我尽力尝试了一切方法; 食品,建筑,摄影之旅。 我当时在一家免费的徒步旅行公司里。 那是最好的教育,因为没有薪水–因此,如果您想从中赚钱,就必须每次都尽力而为,并从第一天起就向客户证明您是值得的。 我很幸运能这样开始。 

“我是一名自由导游。 我尽力尝试了一切方法; 食物,建筑,摄影之旅。”

那你去旅游公司工作了吗?

我成为德里的印度美食之旅的经理,但我喜欢在现场,与人们交谈并向他们展示德里的不同方面。 那使我感到高兴。

工作是季节性的吗?

是的,由于天气原因,这是非常季节性的。 德里一年中大部分时间会很热,而冬季则很冷,全年温度从2度到38度。 外国游客,甚至印度其他地区的游客都无法忍受高温。 通常,大多数游客在冬季(从XNUMX月至XNUMX月)都会来到德里-印度也是如此-尽管该年剩余时间会有游客。 

您有本地和国际客户吗? 

我会说99%是国际性的。 他们来自世界各地,但主要国家是美国,加拿大,英国,澳大利亚,其中一些来自中国。 来印度旅游的少数印度游客来自该国的不同角落。 他们知道德里的社交媒体上有很多美食,还有他们想参观的地方的名称,但他们不知道背后的故事。 

团体旅行还是个人旅行?

两者都有,但大多数都是团体。 我们将团体人数限制为6人。 这是一次美食之旅,所以6个是正确的数字,但有时我们只有1或2人参加。 现在非常有竞争力。 许多人设置了没有认证的指南,他们不想提供真正的体验。 我认为,旅行的质量在过去几年中确实下降了,这损害了国家形象。

“在大流行之前,我们已经预订了2020年和2021年。”

客户会提前预订还是在到达时预订?

这是一个范围。 在大流行之前,我们已经预订了2020年和2021年的机票。但是,人们也可以在印度预定时间,他们知道什么时候可以免费获得服务以及想要做什么。 客户从旅行团和商务旅行者到背包客,学生,甚至是带街头美食的年幼孩子的家庭,不一而足。

在大流行之前,您是否认为2020年将是积极的一年?

不,不是。 印度的问题是世界其他地区的经济放缓,因此旅游业正在下降。 我们开始在2019年看到这种情况。当然,没有人料到大流行,但是今年我们会看到有所放缓的趋势,但是,当然比发生的事情要好得多。

2020年是如何开始的?

一月份真的很好,二月份我们有很多游客,因为计划去中国旅行的人正在转向印度和斯里兰卡。 这种浪潮一直持续到三月初,但是我在胡里节假期(色彩节)上做了最后一次旅行。 此后,政府开始停止飞行。

锁定期间德里的情况如何?

德里过去两个月非常安静,大街上没有人。 真奇怪许多移民回到了印度其他地区。 现在恢复正常。 在印度各地都是这样。 在我们进行大部分旅行的老德里,街道在2月和XNUMX月再次开始变得拥挤。 很快就没有空间再移动了。 我没想到这一点,但我想“那是精神!” 看到人们回来真好。

没有游客,这是一种不同的气氛。 在印度,当任何人看到外国人时,他们都会感到高兴。 他们想互动或自拍,因此目前缺少积极性。 

印度人会再次旅行吗?

人们开始在国内旅行。 我们看到休闲和朝圣者旅客以及商务旅客。 但是没有来自海外的旅行者。 我认为至少要等到今年年底或明年XNUMX月。

那么,您5个月后的第一次旅行怎么样?

真是运气。 我收到了一家建筑旅游公司的电子邮件,但我认为这不是真实的。 我什至不确定我站在那儿开始巡演的时候。 然后客户出现,我想:“是的,这正在发生。” 她来自英国,三月份在封锁之前就来到了印度。 她在这里工作,但想旅行并了解这个国家。 现在似乎是开始的正确时间。 

“我们戴着口罩并保持一定距离,但是我们没有进入旧纪念碑,因为它们很窄。”

我们选择了一个星期天的早晨,参观这座始建于17世纪的老城区。 在星期天,所有设施都关闭,因此不会很拥挤。 这很安全,周围只有街边清洁工。 我们戴着口罩并保持一定距离,但是我们没有进入旧纪念碑,因为它们很窄。 我们进行了一次完整的巡回演出,这很棒。 就个人而言,我爱人群。 从上午10点到晚上9点,通常没有空间,气氛令人难以置信。

导游教了你什么?

我喜欢与人交谈并询问有关他们的生活故事的问题,我了解跑步和训练的知识,一些客人推荐了关于历史和人性的真正好书。 我还进行摄影之旅,并学习了有关构图和照明的新技巧。 我们可以互相学习。

“我认为现在有更多人希望这样旅行,在他们访问某个地方时与人和文化联系在一起,以使旅行有意义。”

旅行对您个人意味着什么?

我不想去地方看东西。 旅行时,我想与商人或农民建立联系,了解他们的生活,或通过志愿服务给予帮助。 一月份,我前往马哈巴利普兰(Mahabalipuram),这座有5,000年历史的城市以雕刻石材而闻名。 我花了7天的时间在车间里与印度人和外国人一起学习石雕。 这是惊人的。 我认为现在有更多的人希望这样旅行,以便在访问某个地方时与人和文化联系起来,使旅行有意义。 

您如何选择“马王”游览名称?

我的妈妈给我起了名字Ashwani,这是梵语,意为“马王”,所以我改了一下。 马王很容易记住,它使人微笑,每个人都问我这意味着什么。 

“马王很容易记住,它使人微笑,每个人都问我这意味着什么。”

在旅游业返回德里之前,您正在做什么?

我读了很多书,学习了有关Photoshop的知识,与家人和朋友共度时光。 这项工作不存在,但是我可以和您一样与世界各地的其他专业人员交流。 也许在正常年份中,我们不会获得这些机会。

您对2021年感到乐观吗?

这是我们的选择。 大家都看到了今年的不景气。 但是我们可以感到悲伤,同时我们可以变得积极。 没关系。

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

Ashwani Bhati on Tour

Meet Ashwani Bhati from India

Meet Ashwani Bhati, a new junior ambassador of the World Food Travel Association in India. The interview below was first posted on Asia Travel Re:Set.

Ashwani Bhati is Manager of India Food Tour, and a junior ambassador for the World Food Travel Association.

He studied as a mechanical engineer and worked for a mobile phone maker before volunteering at the Mahatma Gandhi Ashram. A chance meeting with a tour guide changed his life. He completed an MBA in Tourism and Travel Management and began a new journey as a travel guide. 

Business was developing well until March 2020. Ashwani recently did his first tour for 5 months.

This week, we chatted about his love for Delhi, his passion for cultural travel and his personal reflections on tourism in the pandemic era.

————-

Why did you give up engineering to be a tour guide?

India has a culture that education is the way to go up, our parents want us to be a lawyer, doctor or engineer. I got my degree, and was working for a Samsung mobile phone maker. The money was good, but I wanted something else. I quit in 2017 and volunteered to teach kids at the Gandhi Ashram. It was the best experience of my life. It really changed me. I met a lady who was a tour guide. She told me fascinating stories, and I knew it was what I wanted to do.

I started working in the tourism industry, but I wanted to study for a masters to satisfy myself I was learning more.

How did you find your first clients?

While studying, I worked as a freelance guide. I tried whatever came my way; food, architecture, photography tours. I was with a free walking tour company. That was the best education, as you are not paid – so if you want to earn money from it, you have to give your best every time, and prove to the customer from day one that you are worth it. I was lucky to get that start. 

“I worked as a freelance guide. I tried whatever came my way; food, architecture, photography tours.”

Then you took a tour company job?

I became manager of India Food Tour in Delhi, but I like being out in the field, talking to people and showing them the different sides of Delhi. That gives me pleasure.

Is the work seasonal?

Yes, it is very seasonal because of the weather. Delhi can get very hot most of the year, and very cold in winter, from 2 degrees to 38 degrees across the year. Foreign visitors and even tourists from other parts of India can’t tolerate the heat. Normally, most tourists come to Delhi – and India also – in the winter season, from September to March, though there are travellers during the rest of the year. 

Do you have both local and international clients? 

I’d say 99% are international. They come from around the world, but the main countries are US, Canada, UK, Australia, some from China. The few Indian tourists who come on tours are from different corners of the country. They know that Delhi has good food from social media, and the names of places they want to to visit, but they don’t know the stories behind them. 

Groups or individual tours?

Both, but mostly groups. We keep groups to 6 people. It’s a food tour, so 6 is the right number, but sometimes we have tours of just 1 or 2 people. It’s very competitive now. A lot people set up as guides without certifications, and they don’t want to provide a genuine experience. I think, the quality of tours did go down in the last couple of years, and this damages the image of the country.

“Before the pandemic, we had bookings for 2020 and 2021.”

Do clients book in advance, or when they arrive?

It’s a range. Before the pandemic, we had bookings for 2020 and 2021. But also people book when they are in India and they know when they will be free and what they want to do. Clients vary from tour groups and business travellers to backpackers, students and even families with young kids who try the street foods.

Before the pandemic, did you feel 2020 would be a positive year?

No, not really. The problem with India was the economic slowdown in the rest of the world, so tourism was going a little bit down. We were starting to see that in 2019. Of course, no one expected the pandemic but we would have seen a bit of a slowdown this year – but, of course, much better than what has happened.

How did 2020 begin for you?

It was really good in January, and in February we had lots of tourists because people who had planned to travel to China were changing to India and Sri Lanka. This surge lasted into early March, but I did my last tour on the Holi holidays, the Festival of Colours. After that, the government began stopping flights.

What was Delhi like during lockdown?

Delhi was very quiet for 2 months, with no-one on the streets. It was strange. A lot of migrants went back to other parts of India. Now it is back to normal. All over India it is like this. In old Delhi, where we do most of our tours, the streets started to get crowded again in June and July. Soon there was no space to move again. I wasn’t expecting that, but I thought “That’s the spirit!” It was so good to see people back.

It is a different atmosphere without tourists. In India, when anybody sees a foreigner they feel happy. They want to interact or have a selfie, so that sense of positivity is missing at the moment. 

Are Indians travelling again?

People have started travelling inside the country. We see leisure and pilgrim travellers and business travellers. But there are no travellers from overseas. I think that won’t be until the end of the year at least, or maybe next March.

So, how was your first tour after 5 months?

It was pure luck. I got an email from an architecture tour company, and I didn’t think it was real. I was not even sure while I was standing there to start the tour. And then the client turned up and I thought “Yeah, this is happening.” She was from the UK, and came to India in March just before the lockdown. She is working here, but wants to travel and learn about the country. Now seemed the right time to start. 

“We wore masks and kept a distance, but we didn’t go inside the old monuments because they are very narrow.”

We chose a Sunday morning to visit the old city, which was built from the 17th century. On Sunday everything is closed, so it’s not crowded. It was safe, the only people around were the street cleaners. We wore masks and kept a distance, but we didn’t go inside the old monuments because they are very narrow. We did a full tour though, and it was great. Personally, I love the crowds. From 10am to 9pm, there is usually no space, and the atmosphere is incredible.

What has being a tour guide taught you?

I love talking to people and asking questions about their life stories, I learned about running and training, some guests recommended really good books about history and humanity. I also do photography tours, and learned new tricks about composition and lighting. We can learn from each other.

“I think more people want to travel like this now, to connect to people and culture when they visit a place, for travel to be meaningful.”

What does travel mean to you personally?

I don’t want to go to places and see things. When I travel, I want to connect with trades people or farmers and learn about their lives, or to give something by volunteering. In January, I travelled to Mahabalipuram, a 5,000-year-old city famous for stone sculpting. I spent 7 days learning stone carving with Indians and foreigners in a workshop. It was amazing. I think more people want to travel like this now, to connect to people and culture when they visit a place, for travel to be meaningful. 

How did you choose The Horses King tour name?

My mum gave me the name Ashwani, which is a Sanskrit word meaning King of the Horses, so I reversed it. The Horses King is easy to remember, it makes people smile and everyone asks me what it means. 

“The Horses King is easy to remember, it makes people smile and everyone asks me what it means.”

What are you doing until tourism returns to Delhi?

I’ve been reading a lot of books, learning about photoshop, spending time with family and friends. The work is not there, but I get to speak to other professionals around the world, like you. Maybe, in a normal year, we wouldn’t get these opportunities.

Are you feeling positive for 2021?

It’s our choice what we do. We’ve seen bad times this year, everyone has. But we can be sad and we can be positive at the same time. That’s OK.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest