أشواني بهاتي في جولة

قابل أشواني بهاتي من الهند

قابل أشواني بهاتي ، السفير المبتدئ الجديد للجمعية العالمية لسفر الغذاء في الهند. المقابلة أدناه تم نشره لأول مرة على Asia Travel Re: Set.

أشواني بهاتي هو مدير جولة الطعام في الهند وسفير مبتدئ لجمعية السفر الغذائي العالمية.

درس كمهندس ميكانيكي وعمل لدى صانع هواتف محمولة قبل التطوع في المهاتما غاندي الأشرم. غيرت فرصة لقاء مع مرشد سياحي حياته. أكمل ماجستير إدارة الأعمال في إدارة السياحة والسفر وبدأ رحلة جديدة كدليل سفر. 

كانت الأعمال تتطور بشكل جيد حتى مارس 2020. قام أشواني مؤخرًا بجولته الأولى لمدة 5 أشهر.

تحدثنا هذا الأسبوع عن حبه لدلهي ، وشغفه بالسفر الثقافي وانعكاساته الشخصية على السياحة في عصر الوباء.

-----

لماذا تخليت عن الهندسة لتكون مرشدًا سياحيًا؟

تتمتع الهند بثقافة مفادها أن التعليم هو السبيل إلى الصعود ، يريد آباؤنا منا أن نكون محامين أو طبيبًا أو مهندسًا. حصلت على شهادتي ، وكنت أعمل لدى شركة سامسونج لتصنيع الهواتف المحمولة. كان المال جيدًا ، لكنني أردت شيئًا آخر. استقلت في عام 2017 وتطوعت لتعليم الأطفال في غاندي الأشرم. لقد كانت أفضل تجربة في حياتي. لقد غيرتني حقًا. التقيت سيدة كانت مرشدة سياحية. أخبرتني قصصًا رائعة ، وعرفت أن هذا هو ما أريد أن أفعله.

بدأت العمل في صناعة السياحة ، لكنني أردت الدراسة للحصول على درجة الماجستير لإرضاء نفسي كنت أتعلم المزيد.

كيف وجدت عملائك الأوائل؟

أثناء الدراسة ، عملت كمرشد مستقل. حاولت كل ما جاء في طريقي. جولات الطعام والعمارة والتصوير الفوتوغرافي. كنت مع شركة جولات مشي مجانية. كان هذا هو أفضل تعليم ، لأنك لم تحصل على أجر - لذلك إذا كنت تريد كسب المال منه ، فعليك أن تقدم أفضل ما لديك في كل مرة ، وأن تثبت للعميل منذ اليوم الأول أنك تستحق ذلك. لقد كنت محظوظًا لبدء تلك البداية. 

"عملت كمرشد مستقل. حاولت كل ما جاء في طريقي. جولات الطعام والهندسة المعمارية والتصوير الفوتوغرافي ".

ثم أخذت وظيفة شركة سياحية؟

أصبحت مدير جولة الطعام الهندية في دلهي ، لكني أحب أن أكون في الميدان ، وأتحدث إلى الناس وأريهم الجوانب المختلفة من دلهي. هذا يسعدني.

هل العمل موسمي؟

نعم ، إنه موسمي للغاية بسبب الطقس. يمكن أن تصبح دلهي شديدة الحرارة معظم أيام السنة ، وباردة جدًا في الشتاء ، من درجتين إلى 2 درجة على مدار العام. لا يمكن للزوار الأجانب وحتى السياح من أجزاء أخرى من الهند تحمل الحرارة. في العادة ، يأتي معظم السائحين إلى دلهي - والهند أيضًا - في فصل الشتاء ، من سبتمبر إلى مارس ، على الرغم من وجود مسافرين خلال بقية العام. 

هل لديك عملاء محليين ودوليين؟ 

يمكنني القول أن 99٪ دوليون. يأتون من جميع أنحاء العالم ، لكن الدول الرئيسية هي الولايات المتحدة وكندا والمملكة المتحدة وأستراليا ، وبعضها من الصين. يأتي السياح الهنود القلائل الذين يأتون في جولات من أنحاء مختلفة من البلاد. إنهم يعلمون أن دلهي لديها طعام جيد من وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، وأسماء الأماكن التي يريدون زيارتها ، لكنهم لا يعرفون القصص من وراءهم. 

مجموعات أم جولات فردية؟

كلاهما ، ولكن في الغالب مجموعات. نبقي المجموعات إلى 6 أشخاص. إنها جولة طعام ، لذا 6 هو الرقم الصحيح ، لكن في بعض الأحيان يكون لدينا جولات لشخص واحد أو شخصين فقط. إنها تنافسية للغاية الآن. تم إعداد الكثير من الأشخاص كمرشدين بدون شهادات ، ولا يريدون تقديم تجربة حقيقية. أعتقد أن جودة الجولات تراجعت في العامين الماضيين ، وهذا يضر بصورة البلاد.

"قبل الوباء ، كان لدينا حجوزات لعامي 2020 و 2021".

هل يحجز العملاء مقدمًا أم عند وصولهم؟

إنه نطاق. قبل الوباء ، كان لدينا حجوزات لعامي 2020 و 2021. لكن الأشخاص أيضًا يحجزون عندما يكونون في الهند ويعرفون متى سيكونون أحرارًا وماذا يريدون القيام به. يختلف العملاء من المجموعات السياحية والمسافرين من رجال الأعمال إلى الرحالة والطلاب وحتى العائلات التي لديها أطفال صغار يجربون أطعمة الشارع.

قبل الوباء ، هل شعرت أن عام 2020 سيكون عامًا إيجابيًا؟

لا ليس بالفعل كذلك. كانت مشكلة الهند هي التباطؤ الاقتصادي في بقية العالم ، لذلك كانت السياحة تتراجع قليلاً. لقد بدأنا في رؤية ذلك في عام 2019. بالطبع ، لم يتوقع أحد الوباء ولكننا كنا سنشهد بعض التباطؤ هذا العام - ولكن ، بالطبع ، أفضل بكثير مما حدث.

كيف بدأ عام 2020 بالنسبة لك؟

لقد كان جيدًا حقًا في يناير ، وفي فبراير كان لدينا الكثير من السياح لأن الأشخاص الذين خططوا للسفر إلى الصين كانوا يتحولون إلى الهند وسريلانكا. استمر هذا الارتفاع في أوائل شهر مارس ، لكنني قمت بجولتي الأخيرة في عطلة هولي ، مهرجان الألوان. بعد ذلك ، بدأت الحكومة في وقف الرحلات الجوية.

كيف كانت دلهي أثناء الإغلاق؟

كانت دلهي هادئة للغاية لمدة شهرين ، مع عدم وجود أحد في الشوارع. كانت غريبة. عاد الكثير من المهاجرين إلى أجزاء أخرى من الهند. الآن عادت إلى طبيعتها. إنه مثل هذا في جميع أنحاء الهند. في دلهي القديمة ، حيث نقوم بمعظم جولاتنا ، بدأت الشوارع تزدحم مرة أخرى في يونيو ويوليو. سرعان ما لم يكن هناك مكان للتحرك مرة أخرى. لم أكن أتوقع ذلك ، لكنني اعتقدت أن "هذه هي الروح!" كان من الجيد جدا أن نرى عودة الناس.

إنه جو مختلف بدون سائح. في الهند ، عندما يرى أي شخص أجنبيًا يشعر بالسعادة. إنهم يريدون التفاعل أو الحصول على صورة شخصية ، لذلك فإن الشعور بالإيجابية مفقود في الوقت الحالي. 

هل يسافر الهنود مرة أخرى؟

بدأ الناس يسافرون داخل البلاد. نرى المسافرين بغرض الترفيه والحجاج والمسافرين من رجال الأعمال. لكن لا يوجد مسافرون من الخارج. أعتقد أن ذلك لن يكون حتى نهاية العام على الأقل ، أو ربما في مارس المقبل.

إذن ، كيف كانت جولتك الأولى بعد 5 أشهر؟

كان مجرد حظ. تلقيت بريدًا إلكترونيًا من شركة سياحة معمارية ، ولم أعتقد أنها حقيقية. لم أكن متأكدة حتى عندما كنت أقف هناك لبدء الجولة. ثم ظهر العميل وفكرت "نعم ، هذا يحدث." كانت من المملكة المتحدة ، وجاءت إلى الهند في مارس قبل الإغلاق. تعمل هنا ، لكنها تريد السفر والتعرف على البلد. يبدو الآن الوقت المناسب للبدء. 

كنا نرتدي أقنعة وحافظنا على مسافة ، لكننا لم ندخل داخل الآثار القديمة لأنها ضيقة للغاية.

اخترنا صباح الأحد لزيارة المدينة القديمة التي بنيت من القرن السابع عشر. يُغلق كل شيء يوم الأحد ، لذا فهو ليس مزدحمًا. كان المكان آمنًا ، والناس الوحيدون المتواجدون كانوا من عمال نظافة الشوارع. لبسنا أقنعة وحافظنا على مسافة ، لكننا لم ندخل داخل الآثار القديمة لأنها ضيقة جدًا. لقد قمنا بجولة كاملة رغم ذلك ، وكانت رائعة. أنا شخصياً أحب الحشود. من الساعة 17 صباحًا حتى 10 مساءً ، لا يوجد عادة مساحة ، والجو رائع.

ما الذي علمك إياه كونك مرشدًا سياحيًا؟

أحب التحدث إلى الناس وطرح الأسئلة حول قصص حياتهم ، وتعلمت عن الجري والتدريب ، وأوصى بعض الضيوف بكتب جيدة حقًا عن التاريخ والإنسانية. أقوم أيضًا بجولات تصوير وتعلمت حيلًا جديدة حول التركيب والإضاءة. يمكننا أن نتعلم من بعضنا البعض.

"أعتقد أن المزيد من الأشخاص يرغبون في السفر بهذه الطريقة الآن ، للتواصل مع الناس والثقافة عند زيارتهم لمكان ما ، ليكون السفر ذا مغزى."

ماذا يعني السفر بالنسبة لك شخصيا؟

لا أريد الذهاب إلى الأماكن ورؤية الأشياء. عندما أسافر ، أريد التواصل مع التجار أو المزارعين والتعرف على حياتهم ، أو تقديم شيء من خلال التطوع. في يناير ، سافرت إلى ماهاباليبورام ، وهي مدينة عمرها 5,000 عام تشتهر بالنحت على الحجر. أمضيت 7 أيام أتعلم نحت الحجر مع الهنود والأجانب في ورشة عمل. كان رائع. أعتقد أن المزيد من الناس يرغبون في السفر بهذه الطريقة الآن للتواصل مع الناس والثقافة عندما يزورون مكانًا ما ، ليكون السفر ذا مغزى. 

كيف اخترت اسم جولة The Horses King؟

أعطتني أمي اسم Ashwani ، وهي كلمة سنسكريتية تعني ملك الخيول ، لذلك عكستها. من السهل تذكر ملك الخيول ، فهو يجعل الناس يبتسمون ويسألني الجميع ماذا يعني ذلك. 

"من السهل تذكر ملك الخيول ، فهو يجعل الناس يبتسمون ويسألني الجميع ماذا يعني ذلك."

ماذا تفعل حتى تعود السياحة إلى دلهي؟

لقد كنت أقرأ الكثير من الكتب ، وأتعلم المزيد عن الفوتوشوب ، وأقضي الوقت مع العائلة والأصدقاء. العمل ليس موجودًا ، لكن يمكنني التحدث إلى محترفين آخرين حول العالم ، مثلك. ربما ، في عام عادي ، لن نحصل على هذه الفرص.

هل تشعر بالإيجابية لعام 2021؟

ما نفعله هو خيارنا. لقد شهدنا أوقاتًا عصيبة هذا العام ، مر بها الجميع. لكن يمكن أن نكون حزينين ويمكننا أن نكون إيجابيين في نفس الوقت. هذا حسن.

حصة في الفيسبوك
حصة على التغريد
حصة على LinkedIn
حصة على بينتيريست

Ashwani Bhati on Tour

Meet Ashwani Bhati from India

Meet Ashwani Bhati, a new junior ambassador of the World Food Travel Association in India. The interview below was first posted on Asia Travel Re:Set.

Ashwani Bhati is Manager of India Food Tour, and a junior ambassador for the World Food Travel Association.

He studied as a mechanical engineer and worked for a mobile phone maker before volunteering at the Mahatma Gandhi Ashram. A chance meeting with a tour guide changed his life. He completed an MBA in Tourism and Travel Management and began a new journey as a travel guide. 

Business was developing well until March 2020. Ashwani recently did his first tour for 5 months.

This week, we chatted about his love for Delhi, his passion for cultural travel and his personal reflections on tourism in the pandemic era.

————-

Why did you give up engineering to be a tour guide?

India has a culture that education is the way to go up, our parents want us to be a lawyer, doctor or engineer. I got my degree, and was working for a Samsung mobile phone maker. The money was good, but I wanted something else. I quit in 2017 and volunteered to teach kids at the Gandhi Ashram. It was the best experience of my life. It really changed me. I met a lady who was a tour guide. She told me fascinating stories, and I knew it was what I wanted to do.

I started working in the tourism industry, but I wanted to study for a masters to satisfy myself I was learning more.

How did you find your first clients?

While studying, I worked as a freelance guide. I tried whatever came my way; food, architecture, photography tours. I was with a free walking tour company. That was the best education, as you are not paid – so if you want to earn money from it, you have to give your best every time, and prove to the customer from day one that you are worth it. I was lucky to get that start. 

“I worked as a freelance guide. I tried whatever came my way; food, architecture, photography tours.”

Then you took a tour company job?

I became manager of India Food Tour in Delhi, but I like being out in the field, talking to people and showing them the different sides of Delhi. That gives me pleasure.

Is the work seasonal?

Yes, it is very seasonal because of the weather. Delhi can get very hot most of the year, and very cold in winter, from 2 degrees to 38 degrees across the year. Foreign visitors and even tourists from other parts of India can’t tolerate the heat. Normally, most tourists come to Delhi – and India also – in the winter season, from September to March, though there are travellers during the rest of the year. 

Do you have both local and international clients? 

I’d say 99% are international. They come from around the world, but the main countries are US, Canada, UK, Australia, some from China. The few Indian tourists who come on tours are from different corners of the country. They know that Delhi has good food from social media, and the names of places they want to to visit, but they don’t know the stories behind them. 

Groups or individual tours?

Both, but mostly groups. We keep groups to 6 people. It’s a food tour, so 6 is the right number, but sometimes we have tours of just 1 or 2 people. It’s very competitive now. A lot people set up as guides without certifications, and they don’t want to provide a genuine experience. I think, the quality of tours did go down in the last couple of years, and this damages the image of the country.

“Before the pandemic, we had bookings for 2020 and 2021.”

Do clients book in advance, or when they arrive?

It’s a range. Before the pandemic, we had bookings for 2020 and 2021. But also people book when they are in India and they know when they will be free and what they want to do. Clients vary from tour groups and business travellers to backpackers, students and even families with young kids who try the street foods.

Before the pandemic, did you feel 2020 would be a positive year?

No, not really. The problem with India was the economic slowdown in the rest of the world, so tourism was going a little bit down. We were starting to see that in 2019. Of course, no one expected the pandemic but we would have seen a bit of a slowdown this year – but, of course, much better than what has happened.

How did 2020 begin for you?

It was really good in January, and in February we had lots of tourists because people who had planned to travel to China were changing to India and Sri Lanka. This surge lasted into early March, but I did my last tour on the Holi holidays, the Festival of Colours. After that, the government began stopping flights.

What was Delhi like during lockdown?

Delhi was very quiet for 2 months, with no-one on the streets. It was strange. A lot of migrants went back to other parts of India. Now it is back to normal. All over India it is like this. In old Delhi, where we do most of our tours, the streets started to get crowded again in June and July. Soon there was no space to move again. I wasn’t expecting that, but I thought “That’s the spirit!” It was so good to see people back.

It is a different atmosphere without tourists. In India, when anybody sees a foreigner they feel happy. They want to interact or have a selfie, so that sense of positivity is missing at the moment. 

Are Indians travelling again?

People have started travelling inside the country. We see leisure and pilgrim travellers and business travellers. But there are no travellers from overseas. I think that won’t be until the end of the year at least, or maybe next March.

So, how was your first tour after 5 months?

It was pure luck. I got an email from an architecture tour company, and I didn’t think it was real. I was not even sure while I was standing there to start the tour. And then the client turned up and I thought “Yeah, this is happening.” She was from the UK, and came to India in March just before the lockdown. She is working here, but wants to travel and learn about the country. Now seemed the right time to start. 

“We wore masks and kept a distance, but we didn’t go inside the old monuments because they are very narrow.”

We chose a Sunday morning to visit the old city, which was built from the 17th century. On Sunday everything is closed, so it’s not crowded. It was safe, the only people around were the street cleaners. We wore masks and kept a distance, but we didn’t go inside the old monuments because they are very narrow. We did a full tour though, and it was great. Personally, I love the crowds. From 10am to 9pm, there is usually no space, and the atmosphere is incredible.

What has being a tour guide taught you?

I love talking to people and asking questions about their life stories, I learned about running and training, some guests recommended really good books about history and humanity. I also do photography tours, and learned new tricks about composition and lighting. We can learn from each other.

“I think more people want to travel like this now, to connect to people and culture when they visit a place, for travel to be meaningful.”

What does travel mean to you personally?

I don’t want to go to places and see things. When I travel, I want to connect with trades people or farmers and learn about their lives, or to give something by volunteering. In January, I travelled to Mahabalipuram, a 5,000-year-old city famous for stone sculpting. I spent 7 days learning stone carving with Indians and foreigners in a workshop. It was amazing. I think more people want to travel like this now, to connect to people and culture when they visit a place, for travel to be meaningful. 

How did you choose The Horses King tour name?

My mum gave me the name Ashwani, which is a Sanskrit word meaning King of the Horses, so I reversed it. The Horses King is easy to remember, it makes people smile and everyone asks me what it means. 

“The Horses King is easy to remember, it makes people smile and everyone asks me what it means.”

What are you doing until tourism returns to Delhi?

I’ve been reading a lot of books, learning about photoshop, spending time with family and friends. The work is not there, but I get to speak to other professionals around the world, like you. Maybe, in a normal year, we wouldn’t get these opportunities.

Are you feeling positive for 2021?

It’s our choice what we do. We’ve seen bad times this year, everyone has. But we can be sad and we can be positive at the same time. That’s OK.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest