新闻-瑞典味

瑞典的味道[第1部分]

在瑞典以外的成年人中度过了更好的生活,这使我对瑞典的“是”有了不同的看法。 我之所以选择在国外尝试运气,部分原因是我想探索世界其他地方。 同时,我一直在努力确保我的每日咖啡剂量是瑞典语,而且我是宜家的常客(我在亚洲旅行22个月后甚至在墨尔本的宜家庆祝我1岁生日吃肉丸) 。 我对瑞典美食的了解来自在祖母的厨房里花费数小时的时光,因此当我想探索“瑞典风味”时,我寻求专家的帮助。 


“很难说出来,”位于纽约的食品旅行计划总监Jens Heed说 瑞典旅游。 瑞典的烹饪遗产部分是由我们作为一个国家的开放和好奇心构成的。 显然,描述整个国家的烹饪文化具有挑战性,并且有可能降低一种或另一种鲜为人知的美食珍宝的价值。 瑞典从一端延伸到另一端,绵延1600多公里,北部有许多森林和山脉,西海岸和东海岸都环绕着沿海景观,中间有数百个大小各异的湖泊。 与靠近赤道的国家相比,四个季节之间存在明显的对比,这种差异在瑞典的农业中起着重要的作用。 酿酒葡萄生长在南部的葡萄园中,而超过260,000头驯鹿在北部放牧,从未越过第60个平行线以下。 “这是我们在瑞典的强项之一,您可以从北博滕(Northrbotten)获得白鲑鱼卵或驯鹿,同时享受哥特兰(Gotland)的羔羊和松露,或者为什么不从西海岸牡蛎呢? 所有这些品种使我们有潜力成为美食目的地“。 

瑞典人知道全年的某些假期,甚至某些日子的典型菜肴。 4月17日专门庆祝著名的“肉桂面包”。 “smörgåsbord”在每次大型庆祝活动中都会出现,根据一年中的时间和传统,有些菜的自然摆放位置。 在复活节,小龙虾聚会上要放鸡蛋和羊肉,小龙虾聚会上要放小龙虾和“västerbottenpie”,圣诞节要吃詹森的诱惑和圣诞火腿,当然,自XNUMX世纪以来,无论什么季节,鲱鱼都会出现。 詹斯(Jens)在谈论圣诞节餐桌如何可能是瑞典最稳定的传统之一时表示同意,但他也想强调一点,就是即使是这种坚固耐用的习惯性自助餐,也有无数种美食供您选择,但并不总是像今天这样。 “我的父母总是为“猪脚”服务,但是在我的圣诞餐桌上却找不到。” 我知道我也没有送达! 

腌制,发酵,干燥,熏制,腌制,腌制或腌制。 这些烹饪技术见证了过去,恶劣和恶劣的天气可能会导致食物短缺。 时至今日,这些因素全都促进了瑞典的饮食文化。 詹斯将其称为我们的“储存文化”,并解释说,许多年前,每年花费几个月的时间来种植和种植能在冬季甚至更长时期维持人口的产品。 这些技术奠定了瑞典饮食文化的基础,我们要感谢我们的独创性,包括菜花,酸牛奶和野莓果酱以及其他许多美食。 通过“加糖”进行保存也已被广泛使用,瑞典人当然在甜食方面存在弱点。 这是甜味和咸味之间的微妙平衡,没有任何组合太怪异。 可以将越橘果酱和肉丸或Kroppkakor(一种土豆饺子)一起食用。 为什么不喝点甜咖啡呢?  

没有在瑞典喝咖啡,任何会议,社交聚会,庆祝活动或活动都不会完成。 在一天中的任何时候,您都可以添加自己喜欢的甜蜜渴望,与朋友一起进行良好的交谈,并享受享负盛名的“ fika”。 在过去的150年中,香草,肉桂,豆蔻,藏红花和丁香已定期进口,但我们的许多经典糕点和烘焙食品都是用这些特殊的香料制成的,而我们自然也不会种植。 肉桂面包是用肉桂和豆蔻制成的。 瑞典人及其饮食文化受到世界其他地区的影响。 甚至移民人口也在瑞典美食上留下了自己的印记。 “在我们的家庭烹饪中,我们发现使用世界另一端的香料是正常的,詹斯说。 “今天,我们正在旅行,人们遍布世界各地,我们对其他饮食文化感到好奇。 说到60年代随着劳动力移民而来的移民人口,这些移民将瑞典人引入比萨饼,例如“。 

一个不断更新并适应来自世界各地日益增长的人口的厨房,慢慢地,但是肯定地,新菜就进入了瑞典人的心。 如此好奇并想尝试新的,令人兴奋的食物,使我想知道所有这些影响是否都掩盖了我们的烹饪文化,我们是否忘记了真正的“瑞典语”? 詹斯断言,这可能是因为我们认为新时代和现代主义比沉闷和老式更有趣。 好开心赢了! “我们是如此好奇和豁达,我们喜欢进步“。  

不管是哪个国家或地区,饮食文化都在不断变化。 它总是会受到周围环境,当前生活状况和家庭事件以及外部投入的影响。 所有更改都不是肉眼可见的,但是请确保一点一点或一点一点地将它们添加到一个地方的烹饪遗产中。 

我们不想定义瑞典的饮食文化,我们将其留给每个想要参与开发和定义日常烹饪和精致餐饮的人。 从塞巴斯蒂安·吉布兰德(Sebastian Gibrand)到当地的比萨饼店的人,都是定义我们瑞典饮食文化的人–无论是厨师还是消费者,詹斯都在考虑。 

显而易见,我们都参与了我们国家的饮食文化,但是我们如何最好地将其传达给游客呢? 如何将“瑞典风味”传达给喜欢美食的潜在游客? 下周将继续…

作者:Rosanna Olsson

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

news - taste of sweden

The Taste of Sweden [Part 1]

Having lived a better part of my adult life outside Sweden has given me a different view of what Swedish “is”. I chose to try my luck abroad partly because I wanted to explore other parts of the world. At the same time, I have always tried to make sure that my daily dose of coffee is Swedish and I am a fairly frequent visitor at IKEA (I even celebrated my 22nd birthday eating meatballs at IKEA in Melbourne after 1 month of travelling in Asia). My picture of the Swedish cuisine comes from spending hours and hours in my grandmother’s kitchen, so when I wanted to explore the “Taste of Sweden”, I asked for some expert help. 


“It is difficult to put into words,” says Jens Heed, Program Director for food travel at VisitSweden. Swedish culinary heritage is partly made up from our openness and curiosity as a nation. Obviously, describing the culinary culture of a whole country is challenging, and comes with the risk of diminishing the value of one or another gastronomic treasure that is less known. Sweden stretches over 1600 km from one end to the other, plenty of forest and mountains in the north, coastal landscapes surrounding both the west and east coast, and hundreds of lakes in various sizes in between. There is a pronounced contrast between the four seasons compared to countries closer to the equator, and this difference plays an important role in Swedish agriculture.  Wine grapes grow in vineyards in the south and more than 260,000 reindeers graze in the north, never passing below the 60th parallel. “This is one of our strengths here in Sweden, you could get whitefish roe or reindeer from Norrbotten, at the same time enjoy lamb and truffles from Gotland, or why not oysters from the West coast? All of these varieties give us potential as a food destination”. 

Swedes know the typical dishes served during certain holidays throughout the year and even on specific days. The 4th of October is exclusively dedicated to the renowned ”cinnamon bun”. The “smörgåsbord” is presented at every big celebration, with some dishes having their natural place depending on the time of year and tradition. Eggs and lamb are served at Easter, crayfish and “västerbottenpie” for the crayfish party, Jansson’s temptation and Christmas ham for Christmas, and of course herring has been present regardless of the season since the 17th century. Jens agrees when we talk about how the Christmas table is probably one of the most stable Swedish traditions, but he also wants to highlight that even this sturdy customary buffet with endless options of delicacies has not always looked the way it does today. “My parents always served ‘pigs feet’, but you wouldn’t find that on my Christmas table.” I realize I haven’t served it either! 

Pickled, fermented, dried, smoked, salted, marinated or cured. These cooking techniques bear witness to the past, where rough and harsh weather could potentially result in food scarcity. To this day, these factors have all contributed to the culinary culture of Sweden. Jens calls it our “storing culture”, and explains that many, many years ago, a few months of every year were spent growing and cultivating the produce that would sustain the population during winter, and sometimes even longer. These techniques laid the foundation of Swedish food culture, and we can thank our ingenuity for gravlax, sour milk and cloudberry jam, among many other delicacies. Preservation through “sweetening” has also been widely used, and the Swedes certainly have a weakness for sweet things. It is a delicate balance between sweet and savoury, and no combination is too weird. Lingonberry jam together with meatballs or Kroppkakor (a kind of potato dumplings) is a given. And why not something sweet to go with your cup of coffee?  

No meeting, social gathering, celebration, or event is complete without coffee in Sweden. At any time of the day, add your favourite sweet craving, together with friends and good conversation and you will be enjoying the renowned “fika”. Vanilla, cinnamon, cardamom, saffron, and cloves have been imported regularly for the past 150 years, yet many of our classical pastries and baked goods are made with these particular spices of which we naturally grow neither. Cinnamon buns are made with both cinnamon and cardamom, for example. The Swedes and their food culture are influenced by the rest of the world. Even the immigrant population has left its mark on the Swedish cuisine. “In our home cooking we find it normal to use spices from the other side of the world, Jens says. “Today we are travelling people, we move all over the world and we are curious about other food cultures. Speaking of the immigrated population that arrived with the labour immigration in the ’60s that introduced the Swedes to the pizza, for example”. 

A kitchen that is continuously renewing and adapting itself to a growing population from all over the world, slowly but surely, new dishes find their way into the hearts of Swedes. By being so curious and wanting to try new, exciting food makes me wonder if all these influences are overshadowing our culinary culture and if we are forgetting what is truly “Swedish”? Jens asserts that it is probably because we think new and contemporary is more fun than dull and old-fashioned. So fun wins!. “We are so curious and open-minded, and we like progress”.  

Food culture is constantly changing regardless of the country or region. It will always be impacted by our surrounding world, current life situation and family events mixed with external inputs. All of the changes are not visible to the bare eye, but be sure that bit by bit, or bite by bite, they add to the culinary heritage of a place. 

We wouldn’t want to define the Swedish food culture, we leave that to everyone that wants to partake in developing and defining both the everyday cooking and the fine dining. Anyone from Sebastian Gibrand to the local pizzaiolo, those are the ones who define our Swedish food culture – both the cooks and the consumers, Jens contemplates. 

It is obvious that we all have a part in our country’s food culture, but how do we best convey this to our visitors? How is the “Taste of Sweden” communicated to the potential food-loving tourists? To be continued next week…

Authored by: Rosanna Olsson

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest