无塑料

目的地真的可以没有塑料吗?

餐饮服务网点要实现可持续发展,就面临着许多需要克服的问题。 我们都熟悉的这样一个问题是塑料废物。 尽管塑料可以方便地用于餐饮服务网点,但它对目的地自身的可持续性形象在环境,经济和社会方面产生了很大的负面影响。

塑料是一个了不起的发明,它使长时间的生活变得更加轻松。 事实证明,塑料仅是一种短期解决方案,因为它现在威胁着整个星球。 不幸的是,它已成为我们日常生活中不可或缺的一部分。 低廉的生产成本为其广泛的增长铺平了道路。 去年大概 每年生产300亿吨塑料。 其中包括我们在大多数游客手中看到的数十亿个塑料水瓶。 由于大流行影响了我们的饮食方式,外卖饭量比以往任何时候都要多,并且随之而来的对包装的依赖程度也比以往任何时候都要高,因此这一数字有望进一步增加。

由于餐具,吸管和包装,食品和饮料造成了大量的一次性塑料废物。 您是否知道据估计有40%的塑料垃圾归因于食品包装? 这清楚地表明,企业寻找替代产品至关重要。

在餐馆,摊贩,酒店和航空公司中,塑料以杯子,盘子,餐具,容器,手提袋和吸管的形式盛行。 受欢迎的美食目的地,例如中国,西班牙,美国和新加坡,使餐饮服务业更容易依靠塑料包装来满足大众消费主义日益增长的需求。

现在,公众普遍反对使用塑料。 如今的消费者比以往任何时候都更加注重生态意识和责任感,旅行时我们会随身携带我们的行为和喜好。 因此,消费者(和旅行者)现在期望酒店业减少其塑料用量,并转向无塑料操作。 说起来容易做起来难,但是变化正在发生。 它看起来似乎是一个非常复杂的问题,但值得解决。

目前,仅 14% 全球塑料包装的回收利用。 回收塑料废物似乎比将其送往垃圾填埋场更好,但首先不要产生废物确实是最好的选择。

考虑可以主动满足商业要求的利润和消费者要求的环境稳定性的替代产品。 在日本,传统食品开始使用天然成分进行包装,并且包装自然美观。 在美国的某些州,玉米用于制造100%可生物降解的类塑料食品容器。 同样,加利福尼亚和英国也宣布打算在本国禁止一次性塑料制品,特别是在就餐餐厅中。 世界上许多目的地已经禁止使用塑料吸管。 变化正在发生。

星巴克,万豪国际集团,希尔顿,六感集团和其他几个品牌已成功开展可持续实践,建立了无塑料业务,用木材,柠檬草或竹子替代品代替塑料吸管,餐具和器皿。

变化不会立即发生,因为它需要进行大量研究并持续记录影响企业和目的地的增长和形象的渐进式变化。

餐饮服务企业主和与之合作的目的地在教育和传播意识方面负有更大的责任。 您可以采取的步骤包括在菜单上添加有关限制塑料使用量的信息(称为“菜单消息”),并为遵守法规的人员提供激励措施。

在中国、德国、意大利、韩国和美国的 World Food Travel Association,我们寻求支持可持续烹饪目的地的发展。 为此,我们将在即将到来的会议上提出一个有趣的案例研究 FoodTrex全球峰会 在15月16日至100日。 我们邀请了两位专家演讲者,他们帮助意大利Pejo滑雪地区XNUMX%不用塑料。

Fabio Sacco是Val do Sole旅游局的目的地经理。 他解决了旅行和旅游业中的各种挑战。 他认为旅游局需要关注游客的需求。 自由职业者的开发商Elena Viani也加入了他的行列,他为当地发展,文化旅游和可持续发展项目提供咨询。 加入我们,使您的业务或目的地更接近可持续发展的未来。

单击此处了解有关本次会议的更多信息并注册FoodTrex全球峰会。

由Nivethitha Bharathi撰写。 编辑者 Erik Wolf.

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

Plastic-Free

Can Destinations Really Be Plastic-Free?

Foodservice outlets face a variety of issues to overcome if they are to achieve sustainable practices. One such issue we are all familiar with is plastic waste. And while plastic is convenient for foodservice outlets, it has a highly negative impact on the environmental, economic and social dimensions of a destination’s own image of sustainability.

Plastic was a fantastic invention and it made life easier for a long time. As it turns out, plastic was only good as a short-term solution because now it threatens the entire planet. Unfortunately, it has become an indispensable part of our everyday life. Its low production cost paved the way for its extensive growth. Last year roughly 300 million tons of plastic are produced each year. This includes the billions of plastic water bottles we see in the hands of most tourists. This number is expected to grow further, as the pandemic has affected how we dine, with more takeaway meals than ever, and the subsequent reliance on more packaging than ever.

Food and beverage contribute a significant amount of single-use plastic waste because of cutlery, straws, and packaging. And did you know that it is estimated that 40% of plastic waste is attributed to food packaging? This makes it clear how essential it is for businesses to find alternative products.

With restaurants, street vendors, hotels and airlines, plastic prevailed in the form of cups, plates, cutlery, containers, carry bags and straws. Popular culinary destinations such as China, Spain, the US and Singapore made it easy for the foodservice industry to depend more on plastic packaging as a way to meet the increasing demands of mass consumerism.

Now there is a public backlash against plastic in general. Today’s consumers are more eco-conscious and responsible than ever before, and we take our behaviours and preferences with us when we travel. Consequently, consumers (and travelers) now expect the hospitality industry to reduce its plastic usage and shift towards plastic-free operation. It is easier said than done, but change is happening. And it may seem like a woefully complicated problem but it is worth solving.

Currently, only a mere 14 percent of plastic packaging globally is recycled.  Recycling plastic waste may seem like a better option than sending them to a landfill, but not generating waste in the first place is truly the best option.

Consider alternative products that can proactively satisfy the business mandate for profit and the consumer mandate for environmental stability. In Japan, traditional foods are beginning to be packed using natural ingredients, with beautiful packaging naturally. In some US states, corn is used to make plastic-like food containers, which are 100% biodegradable. Similarly, California and the UK have announced their intention to ban single-use plastics in their countries, especially at dine-in restaurants. And many destinations around the world have already banned plastic straws. Change is happening.

Starbucks, Marriot International, Hilton, Six Senses and several other brands have successfully initiated sustainable practices by setting up plastic-free operations to replace plastic straws, cutlery and utensils with wood, lemongrass or bamboo alternatives.

Change does not happen immediately, as it requires immense research and continuous record keeping of the gradual changes that impact the growth and image of businesses and destinations.

Foodservice business owners and destinations that work with them have even more responsibility to educate and spread awareness. Steps you can take include adding information on the menu (called “menu messaging”) about the need to curb plastic usage and offering incentives to those who comply.

At the World Food Travel Association, we seek to support the growth of sustainable culinary destinations. To this end, we are presenting an interesting case study at our upcoming FoodTrex Global Summit on April 15-16. We have invited two expert speakers who have helped the Italian ski region of Pejo to go 100% plastic-free.

Fabio Sacco is the Destination Manager at Val do Sole Tourism Board. He has solved a broad spectrum of challenges in travel and tourism. He believes tourism boards need to focus on the tourists’ needs. Joining him is Elena Viani, a freelance tourism developer who consults for local development, cultural tourism, and sustainability projects. Join us to take your business or destination one step closer to a sustainable future.

Click here to learn more about this session and to register for FoodTrex Global Summit.

Written by Nivethitha Bharathi. Edited by Erik Wolf.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest