خالي من البلاستيك

هل يمكن حقًا أن تكون الوجهات خالية من البلاستيك؟

تواجه منافذ تقديم الخدمات الغذائية مجموعة متنوعة من القضايا التي يجب التغلب عليها إذا كانت ستحقق ممارسات مستدامة. إحدى هذه المشكلات التي نعرفها جميعًا هي النفايات البلاستيكية. وعلى الرغم من أن البلاستيك مناسب لمنافذ تقديم الخدمات الغذائية ، إلا أنه له تأثير سلبي للغاية على الأبعاد البيئية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية لصورة الاستدامة الخاصة بالوجهة.

كان البلاستيك اختراعًا رائعًا وجعل الحياة أسهل لفترة طويلة. كما اتضح ، كان البلاستيك جيدًا فقط كحل قصير المدى لأنه الآن يهدد الكوكب بأكمله. لسوء الحظ ، أصبح جزءًا لا غنى عنه في حياتنا اليومية. مهدت تكلفة الإنتاج المنخفضة الطريق لنموها الواسع. العام الماضي تقريبا يتم إنتاج 300 مليون طن من البلاستيك كل عام. وهذا يشمل مليارات زجاجات المياه البلاستيكية التي نراها في أيدي معظم السياح. من المتوقع أن يزداد هذا العدد أكثر ، حيث أثر الوباء على طريقة تناولنا لتناول الطعام ، مع المزيد من الوجبات الجاهزة أكثر من أي وقت مضى ، والاعتماد اللاحق على تغليف أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

تساهم الأطعمة والمشروبات بكمية كبيرة من النفايات البلاستيكية التي تستخدم مرة واحدة بسبب أدوات المائدة والقش والتعبئة والتغليف. وهل تعلم أنه من المقدر أن 40٪ من النفايات البلاستيكية تعزى إلى تغليف المواد الغذائية؟ يوضح هذا مدى أهمية أن تجد الشركات منتجات بديلة.

مع المطاعم والباعة الجائلين والفنادق وشركات الطيران ، ساد البلاستيك على شكل أكواب وأطباق وأدوات مائدة وحاويات وأكياس حمل وقش. جعلت وجهات الطهي الشهيرة مثل الصين وإسبانيا والولايات المتحدة وسنغافورة من السهل على صناعة الخدمات الغذائية الاعتماد بشكل أكبر على العبوات البلاستيكية كوسيلة لتلبية الطلبات المتزايدة للاستهلاك الجماعي.

الآن هناك رد فعل شعبي عنيف ضد البلاستيك بشكل عام. أصبح مستهلكو اليوم أكثر وعيًا بالبيئة ومسؤولية أكثر من أي وقت مضى ، ونحن نأخذ سلوكياتنا وتفضيلاتنا معنا عندما نسافر. وبالتالي ، يتوقع المستهلكون (والمسافرون) الآن أن تقلل صناعة الضيافة من استخدام البلاستيك وتتحول نحو التشغيل الخالي من البلاستيك. القول أسهل من الفعل ، لكن التغيير يحدث. وقد تبدو مشكلة معقدة بشكل مؤسف لكنها تستحق الحل.

حاليا ، فقط مجرد 14 في المئة من العبوات البلاستيكية على مستوى العالم يتم إعادة تدويرها. قد تبدو إعادة تدوير النفايات البلاستيكية خيارًا أفضل من إرسالها إلى مكب النفايات ، ولكن عدم توليد النفايات في المقام الأول هو الخيار الأفضل حقًا.

ضع في اعتبارك المنتجات البديلة التي يمكن أن تلبي بشكل استباقي التفويض التجاري للربح وتفويض المستهلك للاستقرار البيئي. في اليابان ، بدأت الأطعمة التقليدية تعبأ باستخدام مكونات طبيعية ، مع عبوات جميلة بشكل طبيعي. في بعض الولايات الأمريكية ، تُستخدم الذرة لصنع أوعية طعام شبيهة بالبلاستيك ، وهي قابلة للتحلل بنسبة 100٪. وبالمثل ، أعلنت كاليفورنيا والمملكة المتحدة عزمهما على حظر المواد البلاستيكية ذات الاستخدام الواحد في بلديهما ، وخاصة في المطاعم. وقد حظرت العديد من الوجهات حول العالم استخدام المصاصات البلاستيكية. التغيير يحدث.

بدأت ستاربكس وماريوت إنترناشونال وهيلتون وسيكس سينسز والعديد من العلامات التجارية الأخرى بنجاح ممارسات مستدامة من خلال إنشاء عمليات خالية من البلاستيك لاستبدال القش البلاستيكي وأدوات المائدة والأواني بالخشب أو عشب الليمون أو بدائل الخيزران.

لا يحدث التغيير على الفور ، لأنه يتطلب بحثًا هائلاً والاحتفاظ بسجلات مستمرة للتغييرات التدريجية التي تؤثر على نمو وصورة الأعمال والوجهات.

يتحمل أصحاب الأعمال والوجهات التي تعمل في مجال تقديم الخدمات الغذائية مسؤولية أكبر للتثقيف ونشر الوعي. تشمل الخطوات التي يمكنك اتخاذها إضافة معلومات في القائمة (تسمى "رسائل القائمة") حول الحاجة إلى الحد من استخدام البلاستيك وتقديم حوافز لأولئك الذين يمتثلون.

في World Food Travel Association، نسعى لدعم نمو وجهات الطهي المستدامة. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، نحن نقدم دراسة حالة مثيرة للاهتمام في المستقبل لدينا قمة FoodTrex العالمية في 15-16 أبريل. لقد قمنا بدعوة اثنين من المتحدثين الخبراء الذين ساعدوا منطقة التزلج الإيطالية في Pejo على التخلص من البلاستيك بنسبة 100٪.

فابيو ساكو هو مدير الوجهة في مجلس السياحة في فال دو سول. لقد حل مجموعة واسعة من التحديات في السفر والسياحة. يعتقد أن مجالس السياحة بحاجة إلى التركيز على احتياجات السياح. تنضم إليه إلينا فياني ، مطورة سياحة مستقلة تقدم استشارات للتنمية المحلية والسياحة الثقافية ومشاريع الاستدامة. انضم إلينا لتقريب عملك أو وجهتك خطوة واحدة نحو مستقبل مستدام.

انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد عن هذه الجلسة وللتسجيل في قمة FoodTrex العالمية.

بقلم نيفيثيثا بهاراتي. حررت بواسطة Erik Wolf.

حصة في الفيسبوك
حصة على التغريد
حصة على LinkedIn
حصة على بينتيريست

Plastic-Free

Can Destinations Really Be Plastic-Free?

Foodservice outlets face a variety of issues to overcome if they are to achieve sustainable practices. One such issue we are all familiar with is plastic waste. And while plastic is convenient for foodservice outlets, it has a highly negative impact on the environmental, economic and social dimensions of a destination’s own image of sustainability.

Plastic was a fantastic invention and it made life easier for a long time. As it turns out, plastic was only good as a short-term solution because now it threatens the entire planet. Unfortunately, it has become an indispensable part of our everyday life. Its low production cost paved the way for its extensive growth. Last year roughly 300 million tons of plastic are produced each year. This includes the billions of plastic water bottles we see in the hands of most tourists. This number is expected to grow further, as the pandemic has affected how we dine, with more takeaway meals than ever, and the subsequent reliance on more packaging than ever.

Food and beverage contribute a significant amount of single-use plastic waste because of cutlery, straws, and packaging. And did you know that it is estimated that 40% of plastic waste is attributed to food packaging? This makes it clear how essential it is for businesses to find alternative products.

With restaurants, street vendors, hotels and airlines, plastic prevailed in the form of cups, plates, cutlery, containers, carry bags and straws. Popular culinary destinations such as China, Spain, the US and Singapore made it easy for the foodservice industry to depend more on plastic packaging as a way to meet the increasing demands of mass consumerism.

Now there is a public backlash against plastic in general. Today’s consumers are more eco-conscious and responsible than ever before, and we take our behaviours and preferences with us when we travel. Consequently, consumers (and travelers) now expect the hospitality industry to reduce its plastic usage and shift towards plastic-free operation. It is easier said than done, but change is happening. And it may seem like a woefully complicated problem but it is worth solving.

Currently, only a mere 14 percent of plastic packaging globally is recycled.  Recycling plastic waste may seem like a better option than sending them to a landfill, but not generating waste in the first place is truly the best option.

Consider alternative products that can proactively satisfy the business mandate for profit and the consumer mandate for environmental stability. In Japan, traditional foods are beginning to be packed using natural ingredients, with beautiful packaging naturally. In some US states, corn is used to make plastic-like food containers, which are 100% biodegradable. Similarly, California and the UK have announced their intention to ban single-use plastics in their countries, especially at dine-in restaurants. And many destinations around the world have already banned plastic straws. Change is happening.

Starbucks, Marriot International, Hilton, Six Senses and several other brands have successfully initiated sustainable practices by setting up plastic-free operations to replace plastic straws, cutlery and utensils with wood, lemongrass or bamboo alternatives.

Change does not happen immediately, as it requires immense research and continuous record keeping of the gradual changes that impact the growth and image of businesses and destinations.

Foodservice business owners and destinations that work with them have even more responsibility to educate and spread awareness. Steps you can take include adding information on the menu (called “menu messaging”) about the need to curb plastic usage and offering incentives to those who comply.

At the World Food Travel Association, we seek to support the growth of sustainable culinary destinations. To this end, we are presenting an interesting case study at our upcoming FoodTrex Global Summit on April 15-16. We have invited two expert speakers who have helped the Italian ski region of Pejo to go 100% plastic-free.

Fabio Sacco is the Destination Manager at Val do Sole Tourism Board. He has solved a broad spectrum of challenges in travel and tourism. He believes tourism boards need to focus on the tourists’ needs. Joining him is Elena Viani, a freelance tourism developer who consults for local development, cultural tourism, and sustainability projects. Join us to take your business or destination one step closer to a sustainable future.

Click here to learn more about this session and to register for FoodTrex Global Summit.

Written by Nivethitha Bharathi. Edited by Erik Wolf.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest