الأصالة في سياحة الأطعمة والمشروبات

أهمية الأصالة في سياحة الأغذية والمشروبات

بقلم ماريا أثاناسوبولو

أولئك الذين جربوا حتى القليل من سياحة فن الطهي يعرفون أن الأصالة ضرورية في إنشاء تجارب فن الطهو. تفترض سياحة فن الطهو الأصالة ، ولكن كيف يتم تعريف "الأصيلة" فيما يتعلق بسياحة فن الطهو؟ الأصالة في سياحة فن الطهو لها ثلاث خصائص رئيسية:

منتجات محلية أصلية

في سياحة فن الطهو ، تلعب المنتجات المحلية دورًا مهمًا بشكل خاص. إنها تعطي لونًا للتجارب التي يبحث عنها المسافرون المحبون للطعام. تؤثر التربة والمناخ وطريقة الإنتاج بشكل مباشر على طعم المنتجات من بلد أو منطقة. هذا هو المذاق الخاص للمكان الذي ينتج ، والذي يسمح له بأن يكون جزءًا من تجربة فن الطهي الأصيلة في كل مكان.

إذا قام شخص ما بزراعة الريحان والطماطم في بلد آسيوي ثم صنع من هذه المنتجات صلصة المعكرونة على أساس وصفة إيطالية ، فهل سيكون هذا طعمًا إيطاليًا أصيلًا؟ قد يجادل الكثيرون بشكل صحيح بأن التربة والبيئة - التضاريس - في كل بلد تعطي طعمًا فريدًا لمنتجات المنطقة. لذلك فإن الفواكه والخضروات المزروعة في منطقة أو بلد آخر لا يمكن أن يكون لها نفس المذاق كما لو كانت مزروعة في مكان آخر. قد يكون الطعم متشابهًا ، ولكن في المثال أعلاه ، لن يمنح الريحان والطماطم المزروعة في آسيا "المذاق الإيطالي" الأصيل الذي اعتاد عليه المسافرون المحبون للطعام.

وصفات أصلية

وصفة كل طبق مهمة أيضًا. لإنشاء الطبق ، يجب أن تستخدم الوصفة المنتجات المحلية بالنسب الصحيحة وأن يتم إعدادها وفقًا للتقاليد العريقة.

على سبيل المثال ، "سبانكوبيتا" (فطيرة السبانخ) ، وهو طبق يوناني تقليدي معروف ، يتطلب استخدام جبن الفيتا اليوناني. إذا تم استخدام جبن أبيض آخر ، ولكن ليس جبنة فيتا ، فهل سيظل هذا هو السبانكوبيتا اليونانية التقليدية (فطيرة السبانخ)؟ حسننا، لا. في حين أن الطبق الناتج قد لا يزال لذيذًا ، إلا أنه لن يكون أصليًا. تظهر هذه الظاهرة بشكل متكرر في المأكولات المختلطة ، حيث تكون المنتجات الأصلية إما صعبة للغاية أو باهظة الثمن. وأحيانًا لا تقدم المنتجات المستوردة نفس النكهة الطازجة مثل المنتجات المحلية. يعرف معظم المسافرين المحبين للطعام أنه لا يمكنهم الحصول على "الشيء الحقيقي" إلا في الأماكن التي يسافرون إليها.

طرق طبخ أصلية

طريقة الطهي ، على سبيل المثال الخبز ، القلي ، الغليان ، التبخير ، إلخ ، هي أيضًا مهمة للغاية لتقديم طعم الطبق بشكل صحيح.

على سبيل المثال ، عندما تستدعي الوصفة القلي ، ما مدى صحة النتيجة إذا تم غلي المكونات نفسها في وعاء بدلاً من ذلك؟ ومع ذلك ، فإن الحياة تتطور. ومعها ، يفعل كل شيء أيضًا ، بما في ذلك كيف ننظر إلى طعامنا. إن التطور والتغييرات اليومية التي شهدناها جميعًا تنعكس أيضًا في مسألة الأصالة في سياحة فن الطهو.

هناك عوامل أخرى يمكن أن تؤثر على أصالة أو طعم مكان الطعام الذي نتناوله.

تغيير طريقة الإنتاج

في اليونان ، كان إنتاج المشروب الكحولي التقليدي "تسيبورو" يتم دائمًا في المنزل. أنتجت كل عائلة سنويًا كمية تسيبورو التي سيستهلكها أفراد عائلتها لمدة 12 شهرًا القادمة. لقد كانت عملية راسخة لعدة عقود. اليوم ، يتم إنتاج Tsipouro اليوناني في معامل التقطير الكبيرة التي تتبع الأساليب العلمية التي تنتج بشكل طبيعي المزيد من المنتجات. تشارك الشركات الكبيرة في إنتاج وتعبئة هذه الروح ، والتي لا تُباع في السوق اليونانية فحسب ، بل يتم تصديرها أيضًا إلى العديد من البلدان الأجنبية.

أسباب صحية

غالبًا ما تجبر الأسباب الصحية الناس على تجنب تناول مجموعات معينة من الأطعمة. على سبيل المثال ، هناك أشخاص يجب عليهم تجنب الأطعمة الغنية بالدهون لبقية حياتهم. ونعرف جميعًا شخصًا واحدًا على الأقل خالٍ من الغلوتين أو نباتي أو نباتي. بالنظر إلى مثالنا اليوناني Sppanakopita (فطيرة السبانخ) ، يستخدم الكثير من الناس الآن الجبن الأبيض الذي يحتوي على نسبة دهون أقل من الفيتا الأصلية ، مما يجعل الطبق أكثر صحة.

الحساسية

في السنوات الأخيرة ، ازداد الوعي بالحساسية الغذائية في جميع أنحاء العالم. لنفترض أن شخصًا ما لديه حساسية من الفول السوداني. لذلك ، بدلاً من ذلك ، يطلب من الشيف استخدام نوع مختلف من المكسرات لإعداد الحلوى. إنها بالتأكيد ليست الوصفة الأصلية ، ولكنها طريقة لبعض الناس لتذوق نكهات معينة لم يتمكنوا من ذلك.

تقنيات الطبخ المنسية أو المهجورة

في القرن الماضي ، تم طهي العديد من الأطباق اليونانية بشكل تقليدي بجوار المدفأة. في ذلك الوقت ، كانت هناك مدفأة في كل منزل. بصرف النظر عن كونه موقد يستخدم لتدفئة المنزل ، فقد تم استخدامه أيضًا للطهي. اليوم ، لا تحتوي معظم المنازل اليونانية ، خاصة في المدن ، على مدفأة. يتم الآن طهي الوصفات التي تم طهيها على الموقد من قبل على الموقد الكهربائي. يجادل الكثيرون بأن هذا التغيير في أسلوب الطهي أحدث أيضًا تغييرًا في الذوق.

من يحكم على الأصالة؟

من الذي يحدد التغييرات المهمة لكل من العوامل الرئيسية الثلاثة (المنتجات والوصفة وأسلوب الطهي) ، لذلك يجب أن نطلق على الوصفة الجديدة الآن "غير أصلية"؟ القضية حقيقية وتتعلق بالمسافرين المحبين للطعام ، وكذلك الشركات التي تخدمهم.

من الذي يقرر ما إذا كان يمكن أو ينبغي إجراء التغييرات؟ هل المستهلك نفسه هو من يقرر التغييرات التي يفضلها؟ هل هو طباخ أم طاه؟ هل هم خبراء في السياحة الذواقة أم مؤرخو الطعام؟

القواعد تتغير وتتطور

تذكر أن أساس سياحة فن الطهو هو فن الطهو المحلي ، وهو يتطور باستمرار. تتغير الأمور بسرعة. على سبيل المثال ، ضع في اعتبارك عدد الأشخاص الذين يتجنبون الآن بعض اللحوم أو كلها.

استبدلت العديد من مدارس الطهي اللحوم تمامًا في العديد من الوصفات ببروتينات أخرى مثل فول الصويا. لذا ، إذا جربت برجر ، لكن البرجر مصنوع من فول الصويا ، لأنني لست من أكلة اللحوم ، هل لا يزال بإمكاننا تسمية هذه الوصفة المحلية الأصيلة؟ من ناحية أخرى ، بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا يرغبون في تناول اللحوم ، يمكنهم بهذه الطريقة تجربة وصفة ربما لن يجربوها ، حتى لو كانت مصنوعة من برجر الصويا.

المسقعة الحبيبة

عندما يفكر الكثير من الناس في الطعام اليوناني ، فإننا نفكر تلقائيًا في المسقعة ، وهو طبق معروف جيدًا في الخارج ومرتبط بشدة باليونان.

لكن أصول المسقعة ليست في اليونان! يقول معظم الخبراء أن لها جذور فارسية ، لكننا نجد فيها دولًا أخرى أيضًا ، وإن تم تعديلها قليلاً مرة أخرى. كيف اكتسبت النسخة اليونانية من المسقعة هذه الشعبية؟ تم إنشاء المسقعة اليونانية التي نعرفها جميعًا ونحبها اليوم من قبل طاهٍ يوناني شهير في عام 1910. ولجعل الطبق خاصًا به ، أزال العديد من التوابل من الوصفة وأضاف البشاميل الفرنسي على القمة. لذلك ، كان هذا الإصدار من المسقعة اليونانية محبوبًا من قبل أولئك الذين جربوه وهو اليوم أحد أشهر الأطعمة في اليونان. لا يوجد يوناني أو أجنبي لا يعرف مسقعة. فهل هذا الطبق وصفة يونانية أصيلة وفقًا لتعريفات سياحة الطعام؟ هذا من الصعب الاجابة عليه.

هل يجب أن نوسع تعريفنا للأصالة؟ هل نحن بحاجة إلى أن نكون أكثر مرونة؟ هل يجب علينا الآن النظر في معايير أخرى لتحديد الأصالة في سياحة فن الطهو؟ القلق بشأن هذه القضايا يتزايد عاما بعد عام. سيستمر النقاش العالمي. ولكن في النهاية ، ستأتي الإجابات النهائية من المسافرين المحبين للطعام أنفسهم ، ومن خلال دراسة عاداتهم وسلوكهم.

ماريا أثاناسوبولو هي مؤسسة الاستجابة عند الطلب Ltd ورئيسة مجلس إدارة الرابطة العالمية لسفر الغذاء (WFTA). تعمل كسفيرة معتمدة لاتحاد WFTA في اليونان وهي أيضًا خبيرة في السفر في مجال الطهي.

تتمثل مهمة World Food Travel Association في الترويج لثقافات الطهي من خلال الضيافة والسياحة. الأصالة هي حجر الزاوية لتذوق المكان في الوجهة ، وهو ذاته تعريف السياحة الغذائية.

حصة في الفيسبوك
حصة على التغريد
حصة على LinkedIn
حصة على بينتيريست

Authenticity in Food and Beverage Tourism

The Importance of Authenticity in Food and Beverage Tourism

By Maria Athanasopoulou

Those who have experienced even a little gastronomy tourism know that authenticity is essential in the creation of gastronomy experiences. Gastronomy tourism assumes the authentic, but how is ‘authentic’ defined in relation to gastronomy tourism? Authenticity in gastronomy tourism has three main characteristics:

Authentic local products

In gastronomy tourism, local products play a particularly important role. They give color to the experiences that food-loving travelers seek. The soil, the climate and the way of production directly affect the taste of the products from a country or a region. It is this special taste of place that produce has, that allows it to be part of the authentic gastronomy experience in each place.

If someone plants basil and tomatoes in an Asian country and then creates from these products a pasta sauce based on an Italian recipe, would this be an authentic Italian taste? Many would correctly argue that the soil and the environment – the terroir – in each country give a unique taste to the area’s products. Therefore fruits and vegetables planted in another region or country cannot have the same taste as if they were planted somewhere else. The taste may be similar, but in the example above, the basil and tomatoes planted in Asia would not give the authentic “Italian taste” that food-loving travelers are used to.

Authentic recipes

The recipe of each dish is also crucial. To create the dish, the recipe must use local products in the right proportions and be made according to time-honored traditions.

For example, “spanakopita” (Spinach pie), a well-known traditional Greek dish, requires the use of Greek feta cheese. If another white cheese is used, but not feta, would this still be the Greek traditional Spanakopita (spinach pie)? Well, no. While the resulting dish might still be tasty, it would not be authentic. This phenomenon is seen frequently in fusion cuisines, where original products are either too hard or too expensive to come by. And sometimes imported products just do not offer the same fresh flavor as locally sourced products. Most food-loving travelers know that they can only get “the real thing” in the places where they travel.

Authentic ways of cooking

The way of cooking, e.g. baking, frying, boiling, steaming, etc. is also extremely important to properly render the taste of a dish.

For example, when a recipe calls for frying, how authentic would the result be if instead, the same ingredients were boiled in a pot? That said, life evolves. And with it, so does everything else, including how we view our food. The daily evolution and changes we have all experienced, are also reflected in the issue of authenticity in gastronomy tourism.

Other factors can affect the authenticity, or taste of place, of the food we eat.

Change of production method

In Greece, the production of the traditional alcoholic beverage “Tsipouro” was always done at home. Each family produced annually the amount of Tsipouro that its own family members would consume for the next 12 months. It was a well-established process for many decades. Today, the production of Greek Tsipouro takes place in large distilleries that follow scientific methods that naturally yield more product. Large companies are involved in the production and bottling of this spirit, which is sold not only in the Greek market but is also exported to many foreign countries.

Health reasons

Often health reasons force people to avoid eating certain groups of foods. For example, there are people who must avoid high-fat foods for the rest of their lives. And we all know at least one person who is gluten-free, vegetarian or vegan. Considering our example of Greek Sppanakopita (spinach pie), many people now use white cheese with a fat content lower than the original feta, which makes the dish healthier.

Allergies

In recent years, the awareness of food allergies has surged worldwide. Suppose someone is allergic to peanuts. So instead, he asks the chef to use a different kind of nut to prepare the dessert. It certainly is not the original recipe, but it is a way for some people to taste certain flavors that otherwise they could not.

Forgotten or abandoned cooking techniques

In the last century, many Greek dishes were traditionally cooked by the fireplace. At that time, there was a fireplace in every home. Apart from being a hearth used for heating the home, it was also used for cooking. Today, most Greek homes, especially in the cities, do not have a fireplace. The recipes that were cooked on the fireplace before are now cooked on the electric stove. Many argue that this change in cooking style also brought a change in taste.

Who judges authenticity?

Who determines which changes are important for each of the three key factors (products, recipe and cooking style), so that we must now call a new recipe “inauthentic”? The issue is real and concerns both food-loving travelers, as well as those businesses that serve them.

Who decides whether or not changes can or should be made? Is it the consumer himself who decides which changes he prefers? Is it a cook or chef? Is it experts in gastronomic tourism or food historians?

Rules change and evolve

Remember, the basis of gastronomy tourism is local gastronomy, and it is constantly evolving. Things change fast. For example, consider how many people now avoid some or all meat.

Many cooking schools have entirely replaced meat in many recipes with other proteins such as soybean. So, if I try a burger, but the burger is made of soy, because I am not a meat eater, could we still call this an authentic local recipe? On the other hand, for those who do not want to eat meat, in this way they can try a recipe that they probably would not try, even if it is made with the soy burger.

The beloved moussaka

When many people think of Greek food, we automatically think of moussaka, a dish well known abroad and strongly associated with Greece.

But the origins of moussaka are not in Greece! Most experts say that it has Persian roots, but we find in it other countries too, albeit slightly modified again. How did the Greek version of moussaka gain such popularity?  The Greek moussaka that we all know and love today was created by a famous Greek chef in 1910. To make the dish his own, he removed many spices from the recipe and added French béchamel on top. So, this version of Greek moussaka was adored by those who tried it and today, is one of the most popular foods in Greece. There is no Greek or foreigner who does not know moussaka. So is this dish an authentic Greek recipe according to the definitions of gastronomic tourism? This is difficult to answer.

Should we expand our definition of authentic? Do we need to be more flexible? Should we now consider  other criteria to define authenticity in gastronomy tourism? Concern over these issues grows year by year. The global discussion will continue. But ultimately, the final answers will come from the food-loving travelers themselves, and by studying their habits and behavior.

Maria Athanasopoulou is the founder of Respond on Demand Ltd and Chairwoman of the World Food Travel Association (WFTA)’s Board of Directors. She serves as a Certified Ambassador of the WFTA in Greece is also a Master Culinary Travel Professional.

The World Food Travel Association’s mission is to promote culinary cultures through hospitality and tourism. Authenticity is the cornerstone of a destination’s taste of place, which is the very definition of food tourism.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest