餐饮旅游的真实性

餐饮旅游中真实性的重要性

玛丽亚·阿塔纳索波洛(Maria Athanasopoulou)

那些经历过一点美食旅游的人都知道,真实性对于创造美食体验至关重要。 美食旅游具有真实性,但是相对于美食旅游如何定义“真实性”呢? 美食旅游的真实性具有三个主要特征:

正宗的本地产品

在美食旅游中,当地产品起着特别重要的作用。 它们为喜欢美食的旅行者寻求的体验增色。 土壤,气候和生产方式直接影响来自某个国家或地区的产品的味道。 正是这种产生的地方风味,使它成为每个地方真实美食体验的一部分。

如果有人在亚洲国家/地区种植罗勒和番茄,然后从这些产品中制成基于意大利食谱的意大利面酱,那么这会是地道的意大利口味吗? 许多人会正确地认为,每个国家的土壤和环境(风土)赋予该地区的产品独特的味道。 因此,在另一个地区或国家/地区种植的水果和蔬菜不能像在其他地方种植的那样具有相同的味道。 味道可能相似,但是在上面的示例中,亚洲种植的罗勒和西红柿不会像喜欢美食的旅行者那样提供真正的“意大利味道”。

正宗的食谱

每道菜的食谱也很关键。 要制作菜肴,配方必须使用正确比例的当地产品,并根据悠久的传统来制作。

例如,著名的传统希腊菜“菠菜派”(菠菜派)需要使用希腊羊乳酪。 如果使用其他白色奶酪而不是羊乳酪,这是否仍是希腊传统的Spanakopita(菠菜派)? 好吧,不。 尽管最终的菜品可能仍然很美味,但却不是正宗的。 这种现象在融合美食中屡见不鲜,其中原始产品太难或太贵了。 有时,进口产品所提供的新鲜风味与本地产品不同。 大多数喜欢美食的旅行者都知道,他们只能在旅行的地方得到“真实的东西”。

正宗的烹饪方式

烹饪方式(例如烘烤,煎炸,煮沸,蒸煮等)对于正确呈现菜肴的味道也非常重要。

例如,当一个食谱要求煎炸时,如果将相同的配料放入锅中煮沸,结果的真实性如何? 也就是说,生活在进化。 有了它,其他所有事情也是如此,包括我们如何看待食物。 我们都经历过的日常演变和变化也反映在美食旅游的真实性问题上。

其他因素也会影响我们所吃食物的真实性或位置味道。

生产方式变更

在希腊,传统的酒精饮料“ Tsipouro”的生产始终在家中完成。 每个家庭每年生产其自己的家庭成员将在未来12个月内消费的Tsipouro量。 几十年来,这是一个完善的过程。 如今,希腊Tsipouro的生产在大型酿酒厂中进行,这些酿酒厂遵循科学方法自然生产出更多产品。 大公司参与了这种烈酒的生产和装瓶工作,这种烈酒不仅在希腊市场上出售,而且还出口到许多国外。

健康原因

通常,出于健康原因,人们不得不避免食用某些种类的食物。 例如,有些人一生必须避免食用高脂食物。 我们都知道至少有一个无麸质,素食或纯素食主义者。 考虑到我们以希腊Sppanakopita(菠菜派)为例,现在许多人使用的白奶酪的脂肪含量低于原始羊乳酪,这使这道菜更健康。

过敏

近年来,全世界对食物过敏的意识激增。 假设有人对花生过敏。 因此,他要求厨师使用另一种坚果来准备甜点。 当然,这不是原始食谱,但它是某些人品尝某些原本无法品尝的口味的方法。

被遗忘或被遗弃的烹饪技巧

在上个世纪,许多希腊菜肴传统上都是在壁炉旁烹制的。 当时,每个家庭都有一个壁炉。 除了用作供暖用的炉膛外,它还用于烹饪。 如今,大多数希腊人的房屋,特别是在城市中,没有壁炉。 以前在壁炉上煮过的菜谱现在在电炉上煮过。 许多人认为这种烹饪方式的变化也带来了口味的变化。

谁来判断真实性?

谁决定对三个关键因素(产品,食谱和烹饪方式)中的每一个都重要的更改,以便我们现在必须将新食谱称为“不真实的”? 这个问题是真实存在的,既涉及美食爱好者,也涉及为他们服务的企业。

谁决定是否可以或应该进行更改? 消费者自己决定自己喜欢哪种变化? 是厨师还是厨师? 是美食旅游方面的专家还是食品历史学家?

规则改变与发展

请记住,美食旅游的基础是地方美食,并且它在不断发展。 事情变化很快。 例如,考虑现在有多少人避免部分或全部吃肉。

许多烹饪学校已经用大豆等其他蛋白质完全取代了许多食谱中的肉。 因此,如果我尝试一个汉堡,但该汉堡是由大豆制成的,因为我不是吃肉者,我们还能称其为正宗的当地食谱吗? 另一方面,对于那些不想吃肉的人,即使他们用大豆汉堡制成,他们也可以尝试他们可能不会尝试的食谱。

心爱的慕沙卡

当许多人想到希腊美食时,我们自然会想到慕萨卡(moussaka),这是一种在国外广为人知并与希腊紧密相关的菜肴。

但是,穆萨卡的起源不是在希腊! 大多数专家说它有波斯的渊源,但是我们在其他国家也发现了它,尽管再次做了些微改动。 希腊版本的moussaka如何获得如此的知名度? 今天我们都知道和喜欢的希腊慕沙是由一位著名的希腊厨师于1910年创造的。为了使这道菜成为他自己的菜,他从食谱中去除了许多香料,并在上面加了法国调味酱。 因此,尝试过此口味的希腊慕沙卡深受人们的喜爱,今天,它已成为希腊最受欢迎的食品之一。 没有希腊人或外国人不知道穆萨卡。 那么,根据美食旅游的定义,这道菜是真正的希腊菜吗? 这很难回答。

我们应该扩展对真实性的定义吗? 我们需要更加灵活吗? 我们现在是否应该考虑其他标准来定义美食旅游的真实性? 对这些问题的关注与日俱增。 全球讨论将继续。 但是最终,最终的答案将来自喜欢美食的旅行者自己,并研究他们的习惯和行为。

Maria Athanasopoulou是以下品牌的创始人 按需响应 Ltd和世界食品旅行协会(WFTA)董事会主席。 她是希腊WFTA的认证大使,也是烹饪旅行大师。

世界粮食旅行协会的任务是通过款待和旅游促进烹饪文化。 真实性是目的地口味的基石,而这正是 美食旅游的定义.

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

Authenticity in Food and Beverage Tourism

The Importance of Authenticity in Food and Beverage Tourism

By Maria Athanasopoulou

Those who have experienced even a little gastronomy tourism know that authenticity is essential in the creation of gastronomy experiences. Gastronomy tourism assumes the authentic, but how is ‘authentic’ defined in relation to gastronomy tourism? Authenticity in gastronomy tourism has three main characteristics:

Authentic local products

In gastronomy tourism, local products play a particularly important role. They give color to the experiences that food-loving travelers seek. The soil, the climate and the way of production directly affect the taste of the products from a country or a region. It is this special taste of place that produce has, that allows it to be part of the authentic gastronomy experience in each place.

If someone plants basil and tomatoes in an Asian country and then creates from these products a pasta sauce based on an Italian recipe, would this be an authentic Italian taste? Many would correctly argue that the soil and the environment – the terroir – in each country give a unique taste to the area’s products. Therefore fruits and vegetables planted in another region or country cannot have the same taste as if they were planted somewhere else. The taste may be similar, but in the example above, the basil and tomatoes planted in Asia would not give the authentic “Italian taste” that food-loving travelers are used to.

Authentic recipes

The recipe of each dish is also crucial. To create the dish, the recipe must use local products in the right proportions and be made according to time-honored traditions.

For example, “spanakopita” (Spinach pie), a well-known traditional Greek dish, requires the use of Greek feta cheese. If another white cheese is used, but not feta, would this still be the Greek traditional Spanakopita (spinach pie)? Well, no. While the resulting dish might still be tasty, it would not be authentic. This phenomenon is seen frequently in fusion cuisines, where original products are either too hard or too expensive to come by. And sometimes imported products just do not offer the same fresh flavor as locally sourced products. Most food-loving travelers know that they can only get “the real thing” in the places where they travel.

Authentic ways of cooking

The way of cooking, e.g. baking, frying, boiling, steaming, etc. is also extremely important to properly render the taste of a dish.

For example, when a recipe calls for frying, how authentic would the result be if instead, the same ingredients were boiled in a pot? That said, life evolves. And with it, so does everything else, including how we view our food. The daily evolution and changes we have all experienced, are also reflected in the issue of authenticity in gastronomy tourism.

Other factors can affect the authenticity, or taste of place, of the food we eat.

Change of production method

In Greece, the production of the traditional alcoholic beverage “Tsipouro” was always done at home. Each family produced annually the amount of Tsipouro that its own family members would consume for the next 12 months. It was a well-established process for many decades. Today, the production of Greek Tsipouro takes place in large distilleries that follow scientific methods that naturally yield more product. Large companies are involved in the production and bottling of this spirit, which is sold not only in the Greek market but is also exported to many foreign countries.

Health reasons

Often health reasons force people to avoid eating certain groups of foods. For example, there are people who must avoid high-fat foods for the rest of their lives. And we all know at least one person who is gluten-free, vegetarian or vegan. Considering our example of Greek Sppanakopita (spinach pie), many people now use white cheese with a fat content lower than the original feta, which makes the dish healthier.

Allergies

In recent years, the awareness of food allergies has surged worldwide. Suppose someone is allergic to peanuts. So instead, he asks the chef to use a different kind of nut to prepare the dessert. It certainly is not the original recipe, but it is a way for some people to taste certain flavors that otherwise they could not.

Forgotten or abandoned cooking techniques

In the last century, many Greek dishes were traditionally cooked by the fireplace. At that time, there was a fireplace in every home. Apart from being a hearth used for heating the home, it was also used for cooking. Today, most Greek homes, especially in the cities, do not have a fireplace. The recipes that were cooked on the fireplace before are now cooked on the electric stove. Many argue that this change in cooking style also brought a change in taste.

Who judges authenticity?

Who determines which changes are important for each of the three key factors (products, recipe and cooking style), so that we must now call a new recipe “inauthentic”? The issue is real and concerns both food-loving travelers, as well as those businesses that serve them.

Who decides whether or not changes can or should be made? Is it the consumer himself who decides which changes he prefers? Is it a cook or chef? Is it experts in gastronomic tourism or food historians?

Rules change and evolve

Remember, the basis of gastronomy tourism is local gastronomy, and it is constantly evolving. Things change fast. For example, consider how many people now avoid some or all meat.

Many cooking schools have entirely replaced meat in many recipes with other proteins such as soybean. So, if I try a burger, but the burger is made of soy, because I am not a meat eater, could we still call this an authentic local recipe? On the other hand, for those who do not want to eat meat, in this way they can try a recipe that they probably would not try, even if it is made with the soy burger.

The beloved moussaka

When many people think of Greek food, we automatically think of moussaka, a dish well known abroad and strongly associated with Greece.

But the origins of moussaka are not in Greece! Most experts say that it has Persian roots, but we find in it other countries too, albeit slightly modified again. How did the Greek version of moussaka gain such popularity?  The Greek moussaka that we all know and love today was created by a famous Greek chef in 1910. To make the dish his own, he removed many spices from the recipe and added French béchamel on top. So, this version of Greek moussaka was adored by those who tried it and today, is one of the most popular foods in Greece. There is no Greek or foreigner who does not know moussaka. So is this dish an authentic Greek recipe according to the definitions of gastronomic tourism? This is difficult to answer.

Should we expand our definition of authentic? Do we need to be more flexible? Should we now consider  other criteria to define authenticity in gastronomy tourism? Concern over these issues grows year by year. The global discussion will continue. But ultimately, the final answers will come from the food-loving travelers themselves, and by studying their habits and behavior.

Maria Athanasopoulou is the founder of Respond on Demand Ltd and Chairwoman of the World Food Travel Association (WFTA)’s Board of Directors. She serves as a Certified Ambassador of the WFTA in Greece is also a Master Culinary Travel Professional.

The World Food Travel Association’s mission is to promote culinary cultures through hospitality and tourism. Authenticity is the cornerstone of a destination’s taste of place, which is the very definition of food tourism.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest