塑料

美食旅游与塑料之间不可否认的关系

太阳灼热,所​​以您决定尝试一下清澈碧脆的蓝宝石水。 在水面下,您会被非凡的蓝色世界所迎接,通过浮潜面具,您会看到多色的鱼类和珊瑚,一只乌龟滑过,还有……面罩? 转过头,你发现一只乳胶手套搁在海胆菌落旁边的海床上。 您起床回到海滩回到毛巾上。 沙子就像天鹅绒一样,但是突然之间您踩到了尖锐的东西–一个塑料瓶盖! 通过您在沙子上的斑点的供应商会为您提供带有塑料吸管的塑料杯中的冰镇西瓜汁,出于卫生目的,将其戴上乳胶手套。 以防万一,在收到杯子后,您需要取出消毒剂凝胶从塑料迷你容器中挤出一些酒精。

在当今的现代世界中,我们被塑料所包围。 我们使用塑料瓶购买各种饮料,我们大部分的水果和蔬菜都是用塑料包装的。 大多数消费者都知道我们存在塑料问题,每天都有新发明和创意帮助我们找到避免过度使用塑料的方法。 但是,随着我们最新的卫生威胁COVID-19的到来,我们急需的一些进展已经恢复。 全球大流行使人们对卫生设施产生了错误的信心。 塑料的使用不仅增加了我们的卫生专业人员,而且增加了每个在公共场合必须戴口罩甚至在某些情况下甚至是一次性手套的个人的数量。

尽管每天都在越来越多的公司和利益相关者中引起人们的注意,但旅游业和酒店业却大量使用塑料。 “没有塑料旅行”组织描述了客户的看法和期望是酒店经营者发现引入变革(例如将某些塑料替换为替代材料)面临挑战的主要原因之一,因为他们担心会因此失去客户。

今天的大流行形势要求使用一次性物品,有时是有充分的理由,但是塑料的使用因此大大增加,并且《卫报》 XNUMX月份报道的“ Covid废物”正在用肮脏的二手物品填充我们的旅游目的地如口罩,乳胶手套和消毒凝胶瓶。 实际上,世界卫生组织(WHO)建议在选择使用一次性塑料手套之前先洗手,因为已发现手套提供了虚假的安全保护,从而使人们减少了洗手的次数。 更多塑料本身并不是消毒方法!

每年有8万吨塑料最终进入海洋(BBC蓝色星球上的David Attenborough – 2018年)

塑料的发明在20年初th 世纪彻底改变了世界。 实际上,塑料曾经被认为是自然界的救星,因为可以使用人工合成的材料来制造塑料制品,而以前经常使用象牙和龟甲等动物产品。 别忘了合成材料发明带来的其他积极成果–在医疗保健领域,我们现在有输血,手术材料,注射器等等。 物流和供应链行业无疑受益于包装解决方案,包括用于脆弱和易碎材料的保护性包装,以及用于食品的包装,其使用寿命更长,总体而言重量更轻。 想象一下,仅用塑料餐具代替五金餐具和餐具,航空公司在一次飞行中就节省了多少重量?  

我们的旅游业可以做什么呢?

如前所述,我们都知道塑料对环境构成的威胁及其破坏。 许多食品和饮料公司在提供街头食品或外卖食品时已经采用了竹板和椰子碗。 我不认识你,但是我觉得我的咖喱饭配香蕉叶包装很好吃。

当我在镇上的年度“街头节”上拿到一个硬塑料杯,并在室外的所有临时酒吧重新装满杯子时,我也感到惊喜。 我在巴塞罗那北部一个村庄的葡萄酒节上观察到了一个类似的想法,是一个人在进入节日时购买(或自带)酒杯,然后从一种露天品酒变成了另一种–很棒!

世界粮食旅行协会最近成为世旅组织 全球旅游塑料倡议 其使命是消除,创新和减少旅游业中塑料的使用。 该倡议聚集了世界各地的旅游公司和目的地,所有签署国都同意在2025年前履行一系列切实可行的承诺。朝着正确方向迈出的重要一步,鼓励世界各地的旅游组织加入反对塑料污染的斗争。

普通旅客可以做什么?

订购冰淇淋时,要求提供华夫饼蛋筒而不是塑料杯。 带上您自己的水壶以补充水,或者,如果水源需要的话,请带上净水片。 带上自己的洗护用品,肥皂以及洗发水和护发素,为您的酒店住宿添砖加瓦! 购物时请自备行李。 计划吃外卖食品时,请带上自己的餐具。

塑料不能也不会从地球上消失。 实际上,仍然需要它带来的许多好处。 然而,负责任地使用塑料和合理的替代品是改善我们目前状况的良好开端。 您是否对不使用塑料就如何促进前往目的地或企业的旅游感到好奇? 30月XNUMX日加入我们,参加无塑料旅行组织创始人Jo Hendrickx的鼓舞人心的演讲。 FoodTreX美食旅行创新峰会.

您又回到了蓝宝石水中。 在水面下,您将再次被引人入胜的各种蓝色阴影的水世界所吸引。 一只乌龟滑过,……你笑了吗? 转过头,你发现海床上栖息着一群海胆。 被美丽迷住了,您穿过光滑的香草色沙子回到您的位置。 供应商路过的会给您提供一个装在纸杯中的冰镇西瓜汁,出于卫生目的,他会在倒入手之前先对手进行消毒。 收到杯子后,您可以从包中取出不锈钢吸管,享受清凉的果汁。 零钱。 影响很大!

由Rosanna Olsson撰写

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

Plastic

The Undeniable Relationship Between Food Tourism and Plastic

The sun is burning hot, so you decide to take a plunge into the clear, crispy, sapphire water. Underneath the surface you are greeted by the extraordinary blue world, and through your snorkelling mask you spot multi-coloured fishes and corals, a turtle gliding by, and … a face mask? Turning your head, you spot a latex glove resting on the seabed next to the colony of sea urchins. You get up back on the beach to return to your towel. The sand feels like velvet, but suddenly you step on something sharp – a plastic bottle cap! The vendor passing your spot in the sand offers you ice cold watermelon juice in a plastic mug with a plastic straw, and hands it over wearing latex gloves for hygiene purposes. Upon receiving the mug, you take out your sanitizer gel to squeeze some alcohol from the plastic mini-container, just in case.

In the modern world of today, we are surrounded by plastic. We purchase all kinds of beverages in plastic bottles and most of our fruit and vegetables are sold wrapped in plastic. Most consumers are aware that we have a plastic problem, and every day new inventions and creative ideas help us find ways to avoid overusing plastic. However, with the recent arrival of COVID-19, our newest sanitary threat, some of our much-needed progress has reverted. The global pandemic brought a false sense of confidence in sanitation. The use of plastic increased not, only for our health professionals, but for every individual obliged to wearing face masks, and in some cases even disposable gloves, in public.

The tourism and hospitality sectors are responsible for a large use of plastic, although awareness is created among more companies and stakeholders every day! The organisation Travel without Plastic describes how customer perception and expectation is one of the main reasons why hoteliers might find it challenging to introduce changes such as exchanging some plastics for alternative materials, as their fear is losing clients over it.

Today the pandemic situation demands disposable items to be used, sometimes for good reason, but the plastic use has therefore increased immensely, and the ‘Covid waste’, as reported by the Guardian in June, are filling our tourist destinations with dirty, used items such as face masks, latex gloves and sanitizing gel bottles. The World Health Organisation (WHO) actually recommends washing of the hands before choosing to use single-use plastic gloves, as gloves have been found to provide false security, which in turn leads to people washing their hands less. More plastic is not a sanitizing method in itself!

8 million tonnes of plastic end up in the ocean each year (David Attenborough on BBC Blue Planet – 2018)

The invention of plastic in the beginning of the 20th century revolutionized the world. As a matter of fact, plastic was once considered to be the saviour of the natural world, as items could be created with a synthetic, man made material where often animal products like elephant tusks and tortoise shells previously had served. Let’s not forget these additional positive outcomes from the invention of synthetic materials – in the health care sector we now have blood transfusions, operating materials, syringes and more. The logistic and supply chain industry has undoubtedly benefited from packaging solutions, both protective packaging for frail and delicate materials, as well as packaging for food products to last longer, and overall, for less weight. Imagine how much weight an airline has saved on one single flight only by substituting hardware cutlery and tableware with plastic options?  

What can our tourism industry do instead?

As previously mentioned, we are all aware of the threat that plastic is posing to the environment and damage it does. Many food and beverage companies have already adopted bamboo plates and coconut bowls when serving street food or take-away. I don’t know about you, but I think it is pretty neat having my curry with rice served in a banana leaf package.

I was also pleasantly surprised when I was handed a hard-plastic mug at my town’s yearly “street-festival”, to be refilled at all the temporary bars setup outdoors. I observed a similar idea at a wine festival in a village north of Barcelona, were one purchased (or brought your own) wine glass upon entering the festival, and went from one open-aired wine tasting to another – brilliant!

The World Food Travel Association recently became a signatory of the UNWTO’s Global Tourism Plastic Initiative and its mission to eliminate, innovate and reduce the use of plastics in the tourism industry. The initiative gathers tourism companies and destinations around the world and all signatories agree to fulfil a set of concrete and actionable commitments by 2025. An important step in the right direction and tourism organizations around the world are encouraged to join the battle against plastic pollution.

What can the average traveller do?

Ask for the waffle cone instead of the plastic cup when you order ice cream. Bringing your own water bottle to refill with water, or alternatively water purification tablets if the water source requires it. Bring your own toiletries, soap as well as shampoo and conditioner for your hotel stays! Bring your own bag when shopping. Bring your own cutlery when planning to eat takeaway food.

Plastic cannot, and will not, vanish from the Earth. In fact, there is still a need for many of the benefits it brings. Nevertheless, the responsible use of plastics, and logical substitutes are a good start for improving our current situation. Are you curious about how to facilitate tourism to your destination or business, without the use of plastics? Join us on October 30 for an inspirational talk from Jo Hendrickx, Founder of Travel Without Plastic at the FoodTreX Food Travel Innovation Summit.

You are back in the sapphire water. Underneath the surface you are once again greeted by the striking waterworld in all shades of blue. A turtle gliding by, and… did you catch it smiling? Turning your head, you spot a colony of sea urchins resting on the seabed. Mesmerized by the beauty, you tread through the smooth, vanilla-coloured sand back to your spot. The vendor passing by offers you ice cold watermelon juice in a paper mug, he sanitizes his hands before pouring it and handing it over, for hygiene purposes. Upon receiving the mug, you take out your stainless straw from your bag and enjoy the refreshing juice. Small changes. Big impact!

Authored by Rosanna Olsson

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest