FoodTreX全球

思想领袖在FoodTreX全球峰会上提供思想思考

尽管企业和目的地一直在寻求从大流行中脱颖而出的最佳方法,但可以肯定的是:对可持续性的承诺现在必须成为每个企业,每个组织和每个旅游局之间对话的一部分。 今年的主题 FoodTreX全球峰会World Food Travel Association (WFTA)是食品和饮料旅游业的可持续性。 年度峰会几乎在15月16日至120日举行,欢迎了来自33个国家的XNUMX名代表。 此次峰会的前四项要点紧随其后。

食物不仅仅是维持

对某些人来说,食物不过是放在肚子里的东西而已。 但是,根据 约翰娜·门德尔森·福曼作为美食外交的领先专家,食物可以用来促进正义与平等,也可以分裂人。 食品可以影响社会的发展,我们可以利用钱包的力量来影响食品工业的发展。 在相关的讨论中,根据当地食品系统专家Gabriel Levionnois(新喀里多尼亚的太平洋食品实验室)和Tracy Berno教授(新西兰)的说法,食品对我们的本质至关重要,并为变革和发展创造了巨大的机会。 食物应该是解决我们问题的中心。 也许具有讽刺意味的是,旅游业可以帮助加强,保存和促进当地的饮食文化。 但是,根据加布里埃尔·莱伊斯(Gabriel Laeis)的说法,某些传统或正宗的食物可能需要进行风格化处理,因为许多旅行者根本不会尝试他们不知道的事情。 为此,需要培训当地的服务员如何向好奇的游客“出售”当地食品。

食品和饮料旅游业正在不断发展

许多人认为“美食旅游”(又称烹饪旅游或美食旅游)无非就是在餐馆吃饭,通常是美食体验。 但是,这些只是全局的一小部分。 我们知道特殊饮食对旅行者比以往任何时候都更为重要,一个小组讨论了这一问题,其中包括 Shivya Nath (印度的纯博客作者和影响者); 扎克·洛瓦斯(Zac Lovas(素食之旅 旅游经营者和维权人士); 和 尚塔尔·库克 (屡获殊荣的广播公司)。 Soumaya Hamdi(清真旅游指南(英国)和Yvonne Maffei(我的清真厨房(美国),他谈到了清真饮食和热衷于穆斯林美食的旅行者的庞大市场。 然后是Tanja Korosec(接口路由,斯洛文尼亚)提出了“空姐主义”的概念,或者旅行学习养蜂和蜂蜜产品,这通常与健康有关。 从许多方面来说,消遣主义是一个全面的可持续性产品。

关于变化的话题,食品研究教授 法比奥·帕拉塞索利(Fabio Parasecoli) 在谈到他称之为“全球布鲁克林”的趋势时,餐饮服务机构甚至世界各地的酒店的设计和风格都开始融入一种共同的,一致的设计美学。 他还指出了这样的矛盾:旅行者说他们想参观不同类型的地方以获得不同类型的体验,但是他们的行为证明他们中的许多人都在寻找看起来既熟悉又舒适的地方。 然后,Elena Viani和Fabio Sacco展示了目的地及其餐饮服务企业如何实现100%无塑料的生产,例如 瓦尔迪索尔, 意大利。

现在的可持续发展为食品和饮料旅游业奠定了基础

就在几年前,关于可持续性的讨论很重要,但通常排在榜首,而利润却是讨论的主要话题。 大流行震惊了我们所有人,我们分析了我们如何相处,如何对待我们的星球以及我们如何经营我们的业务。 一个重要的结论是,需要彻底而迅速的改变。 食品系统专家 朱利安·贝穆德斯(Julian Bermudez) 提供了烹饪创新的机会,尝试在传统菜肴中使用更少的肉。 这并不一定意味着要降低它们的真实性,而只是有所不同。 未来主义者 杰夫·弗洛姆 通过援引包括燕麦(瑞典)和默卡多纳(西班牙)在内的国际食品品牌的努力来支持这一立场。 如果您的品牌尚未加入变革对话,那么您的公司将会失败。 关于“人,地球和利润”的讨论从未像现在这样具有针对性和重要性。

烹饪文化精湛

WFTA执行董事表示,今年FoodTreX全球峰会的主要收获是,我们的烹饪文化比我们许多人所意识到的更为宝贵。 Erik Wolf。 尽管世界上大多数地区都局限于在家或附近地区进行封锁,但我们中的许多人被迫在当地企业购物。 这使我们对本地支出的巨大影响打开了眼界。 我们中的许多人还花时间在家里做饭,经常回想起家庭食谱或问亲戚以前是怎么做的。 当然,我们花时间在电视上观看烹饪和厨师秀。 在平时,我们变得忙碌而分心。 然而,重要的是,根本没有替代本地粮食系统的东西。 当我们考虑可持续性时,保存我们当地的饮食文化和当地食品系统的重要性比以往任何时候都更加重要。 尽管首脑会议的许多对话都与粮食系统对当地居民的重要性有关,但游客是临时居民,他们也将从改善当地粮食系统中受益。

是否想要访问录音和关键要点摘要? 立即在全球峰会页面上以正式代表身份注册。 即使峰会已经结束,我们仍将向您发送为期1年的录音,20页的Key Takeaways摘要文件以及出席证书的访问权限。

媒体专业人士 请与我们联系 要求在您的编程中使用FoodTreX徽标和图片摄影。

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

FoodTreX Global

Thought Leaders Offer Food for Thought at FoodTreX Global Summit

While businesses and destinations continue to look for the best ways to emerge from the pandemic, one thing is certain: the commitment to sustainability must now be part of the conversation within every business, every organization, and every tourism office. The theme of this year’s FoodTreX Global Summit by the World Food Travel Association (WFTA) was sustainability in food and beverage tourism. The annual Summit took place virtually April 15-16 and welcomed 120 delegates from 33 countries. The Summit’s top four takeaways follow.

FOOD IS MORE THAN SUSTENANCE

To some, food is nothing more than something to put in our bellies. However, according to Johanna Mendelson Forman, a leading expert on gastrodiplomacy, food can be used for good to drive justice and equality, or it can divide people. Food can influence how societies evolve, and we can influence how the food industry evolves with the power of our wallets. In a related discussion, according to local food systems experts Gabriel Levionnois (Pacific Food Lab, New Caledonia) and professor Tracy Berno (New Zealand), food is central to our very essence and creates tremendous opportunities for change and development. Food should be at the center of solving our problems. And perhaps ironically, tourism can help to reinforce, preserve and promote local food cultures. Yet some traditional or authentic foods may need to be stylized according to Gabriel Laeis, because many travelers simply won’t try what they don’t know. To that end, local waitstaff need to be trained on how to “sell” local foods to curious tourists.

FOOD & BEVERAGE TOURISM IS DYNAMIC & CONSTANTLY EVOLVING

Many people consider “food tourism” (a.k.a. culinary tourism or gastronomy tourism) to be nothing more than eating in restaurants, often as gourmet experiences. However, those are just small subsets of the bigger picture. We know that special diets are more important to travelers than ever, which was discussed by a panel that included Shivya Nath (vegan blogger and influencer, India); Zac Lovas (VegVoyages tour operator and activist); and Chantal Cooke (award-winning broadcaster). The importance of special diets was underscored by Soumaya Hamdi (Halal Travel Guide, UK) and Yvonne Maffei (My Halal Kitchen, USA), who talked about the Halal diet and the massive market of Muslim food-loving travelers. Then Tanja Korosec (ApiRoutes, Slovenia) presented the idea of apitourism, or travel to learn about beekeeping and honey products, often relating to wellness. In many ways, apitourism is a full circle sustainability product.

On the subject of change, Food Studies Professor Fabio Parasecoli talked about a trend he calls “Global Brooklyn” where the design and style of foodservice establishments and even hotels around the world are starting to merge into a common, consistent design aesthetic. He also pointed out the contradiction that travelers say they want to visit different types of places for different types of experiences, but their behaviors prove that many of them look for places that look familiar and comfortable. And then Elena Viani and Fabio Sacco showed how a destination and its foodservice businesses can be 100% plastic-free, as is the case of Val di Sole, Italy.

SUSTAINABILITY NOW UNDERPINS FOOD & BEVERAGE TOURISM

Just a few years ago, the conversation about sustainability was important, but typically lower on the list, with profit being the primary topic of discussion. The pandemic has shocked us all into analyzing how we treat each other, how we treat our planet, and how we run our businesses. An important conclusion is that radical and fast changes are needed. Food systems expert Julian Bermudez presented the opportunity for culinary innovation, trying to use less meat in traditional dishes. This does not necessarily mean to make them less authentic, just different. Futurist Jeff Fromm supported this stance by citing international food brands that are working hard to drive positive change, including Oatly (Sweden) and Mercadona (Spain). If your brand is not part of the change conversation already, your company will lose out. Never before has the conversation about People, Planet and Profit been more relevant, and more critical.

CULINARY CULTURES ARE PRECIOUS

A key takeaway from this year’s FoodTreX Global Summit is that our culinary cultures are more precious than many of us realize, according to WFTA Executive Director Erik Wolf. While most of the world was confined to lockdowns at home or the immediate neighborhood, many of us were forced to shop at local businesses. This helped to open our eyes to the huge impact of spending locally. And many of us also spent time cooking at home, often recalling family cookbooks or asking relatives how dishes used to be made. And of course, we spent time watching cooking and chef shows on television. In normal times, we get busy and distracted. Yet when it mattered, there was simply no substitute for local food systems. As we think about sustainability, the importance of preserving our local culinary cultures and local food systems is more important than ever. And while many of the Summit’s conversations related to the importance of food systems to local residents, tourists are temporary residents that also benefit from improvements in local food systems.

Want access to the recordings and key takeaways summary? Register now as a full delegate on the Global Summit page. Even though the Summit is now over, we’ll send you 1-year access to the recordings, our 20-page Key Takeaways summary document, and an attendance certificate.

Media professionals, please get in touch to request FoodTreX logos and stock photography for use in your programming.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest