FoodTreX العالمية

يقدم قادة الفكر غذاءً للفكر في قمة FoodTreX العالمية

بينما تستمر الشركات والوجهات في البحث عن أفضل الطرق للخروج من الوباء ، هناك شيء واحد مؤكد: الالتزام بالاستدامة يجب أن يكون الآن جزءًا من المحادثة داخل كل شركة وكل مؤسسة وكل مكتب سياحة. موضوع هذا العام قمة FoodTreX العالمية عن طريق World Food Travel Association (WFTA) كانت الاستدامة في سياحة الأغذية والمشروبات. انعقدت القمة السنوية تقريبًا من 15 إلى 16 أبريل واستقبلت 120 مندوبًا من 33 دولة. فيما يلي أهم أربع وجبات جاهزة للقمة.

الغذاء أكثر من مجرد راحة

بالنسبة للبعض ، الطعام ليس أكثر من شيء نضعه في بطوننا. ومع ذلك ، وفقا ل جوانا مندلسون فورمان، وهو خبير بارز في gastrodiplomacy ، يمكن استخدام الطعام للخير لتحقيق العدالة والمساواة ، أو يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تقسيم الناس. يمكن أن يؤثر الغذاء على كيفية تطور المجتمعات ، ويمكننا التأثير على كيفية تطور صناعة الأغذية بقوة محافظنا. في مناقشة ذات صلة ، وفقًا لخبراء النظم الغذائية المحليين غابرييل ليفيونويس (معمل باسيفيك فود ، كاليدونيا الجديدة) والبروفيسور تريسي بيرنو (نيوزيلندا) ، يعد الطعام أمرًا أساسيًا لجوهرنا ويخلق فرصًا هائلة للتغيير والتطوير. يجب أن يكون الطعام في قلب حل مشاكلنا. وربما من المفارقات أن السياحة يمكن أن تساعد في تعزيز الثقافات الغذائية المحلية والحفاظ عليها والترويج لها. ومع ذلك ، قد تحتاج بعض الأطعمة التقليدية أو الأصيلة إلى التصميم وفقًا لغابرييل لايس ، لأن العديد من المسافرين ببساطة لن يجربوا ما لا يعرفونه. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية ، يجب تدريب طاقم الخدمة المحلي على كيفية "بيع" الأطعمة المحلية للسياح الفضوليين.

السياحة الغذائية والمشروبات ديناميكية وتتطور باستمرار

كثير من الناس يعتبرون "سياحة الطعام" (المعروفة أيضًا بسياحة الطهي أو سياحة فن الطهو) ليست أكثر من تناول الطعام في المطاعم ، وغالبًا ما تكون تجارب ذواقة. ومع ذلك ، فهذه مجرد مجموعات فرعية صغيرة من الصورة الأكبر. نحن نعلم أن الحميات الغذائية الخاصة أكثر أهمية للمسافرين من أي وقت مضى ، والتي تمت مناقشتها من قبل لجنة تضمنت شيفيا ناث (مدون نباتي ومؤثر ، الهند) ؛ زاك لوفاس (VegVoyages منظم رحلات وناشط) ؛ و شانتال كوك (مذيع حائز على جائزة). شددت سمية حمدي على أهمية النظم الغذائية الخاصة (دليل السفر الحلال، المملكة المتحدة) وإيفون مافي (مطبخي الحلال، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) ، الذي تحدث عن النظام الغذائي الحلال والسوق الهائل للمسافرين المسلمين المحبين للطعام. ثم تانيا كوروسيك (ApiRoutes، سلوفينيا) فكرة السياحة ، أو السفر للتعرف على تربية النحل ومنتجات العسل ، وغالبًا ما تتعلق بالصحة. من نواح كثيرة ، السياحة هي منتج استدامة كامل الدائرة.

في موضوع التغيير استاذ دراسات الغذاء فابيو باراسكولي تحدث عن اتجاه يسميه "Global Brooklyn" حيث بدأ تصميم وأسلوب مؤسسات خدمات الطعام وحتى الفنادق حول العالم في الاندماج في جمالية تصميم مشتركة ومتسقة. كما أشار إلى التناقض الذي يقوله المسافرون إنهم يريدون زيارة أنواع مختلفة من الأماكن لأنواع مختلفة من التجارب ، لكن سلوكياتهم تثبت أن الكثير منهم يبحثون عن أماكن تبدو مألوفة ومريحة. ثم أوضحت إلينا فياني وفابيو ساكو كيف يمكن أن تكون الوجهة وأعمال الخدمات الغذائية خالية من البلاستيك بنسبة 100٪ ، كما هو الحال في فال دي سول، ايطاليا.

الاستدامة الآن هي أساس السياحة الغذائية والمشروبات

قبل بضع سنوات فقط ، كان الحديث حول الاستدامة مهمًا ، ولكنه عادةً ما يكون أقل في القائمة ، مع كون الربح هو الموضوع الرئيسي للمناقشة. لقد صدمنا الوباء جميعًا بتحليل كيفية تعاملنا مع بعضنا البعض ، وكيف نتعامل مع كوكبنا ، وكيف ندير أعمالنا. الاستنتاج المهم هو أن التغييرات الجذرية والسريعة مطلوبة. خبير نظم غذائية جوليان بيرموديز قدم الفرصة لابتكار الطهي ، في محاولة لاستخدام كميات أقل من اللحوم في الأطباق التقليدية. هذا لا يعني بالضرورة جعلها أقل أصالة ، فقط مختلفة. المستقبلي جيف فروم دعم هذا الموقف من خلال الاستشهاد بالعلامات التجارية العالمية للأغذية التي تعمل بجد لإحداث تغيير إيجابي ، بما في ذلك Oatly (السويد) و Mercadona (إسبانيا). إذا لم تكن علامتك التجارية جزءًا من محادثة التغيير بالفعل ، فستخسر شركتك. لم يسبق أن كانت المحادثة حول الأشخاص والكوكب والربح أكثر صلة بالموضوع وأكثر أهمية.

ثقافات الطهي ثمينة

تتمثل إحدى الوجبات الجاهزة الرئيسية من قمة FoodTreX العالمية لهذا العام في أن ثقافات الطهي لدينا أغلى مما يدرك الكثير منا ، وفقًا للمدير التنفيذي لـ WFTA Erik Wolf. بينما كان معظم العالم محصورًا في منازلهم أو في الجوار المباشر ، أجبر الكثير منا على التسوق في الشركات المحلية. ساعد هذا في فتح أعيننا على التأثير الهائل للإنفاق محليًا. وقضى الكثير منا أيضًا وقتًا في الطهي في المنزل ، وغالبًا ما يتذكرون كتب الطبخ العائلية أو يسألون الأقارب عن كيفية صنع الأطباق. وبالطبع قضينا الوقت في مشاهدة برامج الطهي والطهاة على التلفزيون. في الأوقات العادية ، نكون مشغولين ومشتتين. ومع ذلك ، عندما يكون الأمر مهمًا ، لم يكن هناك بديل للنظم الغذائية المحلية. بينما نفكر في الاستدامة ، أصبحت أهمية الحفاظ على ثقافات الطهي المحلية وأنظمة الغذاء المحلية أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى. وعلى الرغم من أن العديد من محادثات القمة تتعلق بأهمية النظم الغذائية للسكان المحليين ، فإن السياح هم مقيمون مؤقتون يستفيدون أيضًا من التحسينات في أنظمة الغذاء المحلية.

هل تريد الوصول إلى التسجيلات وملخص الوجبات الرئيسية؟ سجل الآن كمندوب كامل على صفحة القمة العالمية. على الرغم من انتهاء القمة الآن ، سنرسل لك وصولاً لمدة عام إلى التسجيلات ووثيقة ملخص Key Takeaways المكونة من 1 صفحة وشهادة حضور.

إعلاميون ، يرجى الحصول على اتصال لطلب شعارات FoodTreX والصور الفوتوغرافية لاستخدامها في البرمجة الخاصة بك.

حصة في الفيسبوك
حصة على التغريد
حصة على LinkedIn
حصة على بينتيريست

FoodTreX Global

Thought Leaders Offer Food for Thought at FoodTreX Global Summit

While businesses and destinations continue to look for the best ways to emerge from the pandemic, one thing is certain: the commitment to sustainability must now be part of the conversation within every business, every organization, and every tourism office. The theme of this year’s FoodTreX Global Summit by the World Food Travel Association (WFTA) was sustainability in food and beverage tourism. The annual Summit took place virtually April 15-16 and welcomed 120 delegates from 33 countries. The Summit’s top four takeaways follow.

FOOD IS MORE THAN SUSTENANCE

To some, food is nothing more than something to put in our bellies. However, according to Johanna Mendelson Forman, a leading expert on gastrodiplomacy, food can be used for good to drive justice and equality, or it can divide people. Food can influence how societies evolve, and we can influence how the food industry evolves with the power of our wallets. In a related discussion, according to local food systems experts Gabriel Levionnois (Pacific Food Lab, New Caledonia) and professor Tracy Berno (New Zealand), food is central to our very essence and creates tremendous opportunities for change and development. Food should be at the center of solving our problems. And perhaps ironically, tourism can help to reinforce, preserve and promote local food cultures. Yet some traditional or authentic foods may need to be stylized according to Gabriel Laeis, because many travelers simply won’t try what they don’t know. To that end, local waitstaff need to be trained on how to “sell” local foods to curious tourists.

FOOD & BEVERAGE TOURISM IS DYNAMIC & CONSTANTLY EVOLVING

Many people consider “food tourism” (a.k.a. culinary tourism or gastronomy tourism) to be nothing more than eating in restaurants, often as gourmet experiences. However, those are just small subsets of the bigger picture. We know that special diets are more important to travelers than ever, which was discussed by a panel that included Shivya Nath (vegan blogger and influencer, India); Zac Lovas (VegVoyages tour operator and activist); and Chantal Cooke (award-winning broadcaster). The importance of special diets was underscored by Soumaya Hamdi (Halal Travel Guide, UK) and Yvonne Maffei (My Halal Kitchen, USA), who talked about the Halal diet and the massive market of Muslim food-loving travelers. Then Tanja Korosec (ApiRoutes, Slovenia) presented the idea of apitourism, or travel to learn about beekeeping and honey products, often relating to wellness. In many ways, apitourism is a full circle sustainability product.

On the subject of change, Food Studies Professor Fabio Parasecoli talked about a trend he calls “Global Brooklyn” where the design and style of foodservice establishments and even hotels around the world are starting to merge into a common, consistent design aesthetic. He also pointed out the contradiction that travelers say they want to visit different types of places for different types of experiences, but their behaviors prove that many of them look for places that look familiar and comfortable. And then Elena Viani and Fabio Sacco showed how a destination and its foodservice businesses can be 100% plastic-free, as is the case of Val di Sole, Italy.

SUSTAINABILITY NOW UNDERPINS FOOD & BEVERAGE TOURISM

Just a few years ago, the conversation about sustainability was important, but typically lower on the list, with profit being the primary topic of discussion. The pandemic has shocked us all into analyzing how we treat each other, how we treat our planet, and how we run our businesses. An important conclusion is that radical and fast changes are needed. Food systems expert Julian Bermudez presented the opportunity for culinary innovation, trying to use less meat in traditional dishes. This does not necessarily mean to make them less authentic, just different. Futurist Jeff Fromm supported this stance by citing international food brands that are working hard to drive positive change, including Oatly (Sweden) and Mercadona (Spain). If your brand is not part of the change conversation already, your company will lose out. Never before has the conversation about People, Planet and Profit been more relevant, and more critical.

CULINARY CULTURES ARE PRECIOUS

A key takeaway from this year’s FoodTreX Global Summit is that our culinary cultures are more precious than many of us realize, according to WFTA Executive Director Erik Wolf. While most of the world was confined to lockdowns at home or the immediate neighborhood, many of us were forced to shop at local businesses. This helped to open our eyes to the huge impact of spending locally. And many of us also spent time cooking at home, often recalling family cookbooks or asking relatives how dishes used to be made. And of course, we spent time watching cooking and chef shows on television. In normal times, we get busy and distracted. Yet when it mattered, there was simply no substitute for local food systems. As we think about sustainability, the importance of preserving our local culinary cultures and local food systems is more important than ever. And while many of the Summit’s conversations related to the importance of food systems to local residents, tourists are temporary residents that also benefit from improvements in local food systems.

Want access to the recordings and key takeaways summary? Register now as a full delegate on the Global Summit page. Even though the Summit is now over, we’ll send you 1-year access to the recordings, our 20-page Key Takeaways summary document, and an attendance certificate.

Media professionals, please get in touch to request FoodTreX logos and stock photography for use in your programming.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest