طعم

ما هو الطعم؟ منظور إيطالي.

الاستماع إلى واحدة من أحدث مؤلفات Ludovico Einaudi يجعلني أفكر. بدون أي موضوع محدد أو ثابت ، تحمل الموسيقى أفكاري بعيدًا عن مكتبة الجامعة المليئة بالكتب ، حيث أجلس. يبدو الأمر كما لو أنه فقد جوهره. مرة واحدة مليئة بالأشخاص الذين يشاركون وقتهم معًا ، حيث يمكن لمجرد لمحة بسيطة من العين أن تجعلك تشعر بالحياة والوعي. التباعد الاجتماعي لا يصلح حقًا للطبيعة البشرية

بينما كنت شارد الذهن ، تدفعني نفس الموسيقى إلى النظر إلى الأفق. يسحرني هذا المنظر الخلاب ، حيث تقودني ظلال ألوانه المتغيرة كل يوم ، بعد غروب الشمس ، إلى التجول بين اللانهائي. كثيرا ما أفكر في هذه الرؤية المتحركة ، لأنني لا أعرف ما يختبئ وراء تلك التلال والجبال. أنا فضولي بطبيعتي ولا يمكنني إلا أن أحاول تخيل واقع مستقبلي في تلك الأماكن الجديدة. هذا هو الحلم الذي يعيدني إلى الوعي والذي يلهمني إجابات على هذه الأسئلة: ما الذي تبحث عنه؟ ما الذي يدفعك إلى الأمام؟ وماذا يميزك كشخص؟ في حالتي ، الإجابة هي رغبة لا يمكن وقفها في السفر والتعرف على ثقافات جديدة وأشخاص جدد وأشكال جديدة من التعبير. وفوق كل شيء ، هذه الرغبة الفطرية لاكتشاف كيف يعبر الناس في منطقة معينة عن أنفسهم من خلال طريقتهم في الطهي والأكل والعناية بإنتاجهم الغذائي المحلي. نشاط آخر أحبه أثناء السفر هو تخيل كيف يمكن أن تمتزج المناظر الطبيعية المختلفة ومكوناتها المخفية معًا لإنشاء أطباق جديدة. على سبيل المثال ، أعيش في منزل فوق نهر أونيار في جيرونا بإسبانيا. من نافذتي ، في فصل الربيع ، سأرى سمك الشبوط ، والطحالب ، وأوراق شجر الليمون والزهور ، ولكن أيضًا الكثير من المياه تتدفق إلى البحر. تبدو الحياة سهلة ، لكن تخيل فقط محاولة صنع وصفة محلية بمكونات مثل تلك.

ومع ذلك ، لا أريد أن أكتب عن ابتكار الطهي. أفكر أكثر في خصائص طعم الطعام الإيطالي. يعكس مذاقه نغمات تكوين "سبعة أيام من المشي" لـ Einaudi و "إيقاعها الإيقاعي" مما يخلق إحساسًا متناقضًا ، وهو الحنين إلى الماضي. يحدث أحيانًا أن يتسبب الاضطراب العاطفي في حزنك وإحباطه ، مع رغبة كبيرة في العودة إلى أماكن ماضيك لتجد الأمل والعاطفة مرة أخرى. بمعنى آخر ، لإعادة اكتشاف شيء يجعلك تشعر بالسعادة والراحة.

هناك طرق مختلفة للتغلب على الحنين إلى الماضي أو التعايش معه على الأقل. واحد هو الانتماء إلى المجتمع. تحقيقًا لهذه الغاية ، كان أول شيء فعلته هو البحث عن مسقط رأس عينيودي. كما توقعت ، هو بييمونتي مثلي. أنا لا أعرفه شخصيا. لا أعرف حتى مكانه الآن ، ولكن على الفور في ذهني ، بدأت رحلة طهوية خيالية معه في تلال لانجي في بيدمونت ، على طول المسارات في جبال الألب ، بين البحيرات ومدينتي إيفريا. أشعر على الفور بتحسن - سعيد مرة أخرى ، ولكن فقط لأدرك أنني قضيت ساعات طويلة جالسًا هنا أنسى وقت الغداء. ربما يكون الإحساس الحقيقي بالجوع هو الذي يسبب الحنين إلى الماضي ، لكن لا يمكنني ترك سوى نصف سعيد. بدلاً من ذلك ، أواصل البحث عن المزيد من المعرفة حول الطعام ، مما يسمح لي بتناول الطعام بعيني وإشباع رغبتي في الطعام الإيطالي. أثناء النظر في العالم الرقمي ، وجدت أن صديقي التخيلي الجديد قد أجرى مقابلة مع صحيفة الجارديان. لقد ذكر وصفة بسيطة للغاية ، وأعرفها أيضًا. أتذكر أيضًا العودة إلى المنزل وأشتم رائحة الزبدة البنية والمريمية اللذيذة. عندما شممت رائحته ، عرفت على الفور أن جدتي قد أصبحت طازجة للتو أكلة النوكى.

فمي يسيل بالفعل. لذلك ، أتوقف عن الحلم وأسرع في أن أشرح لك ما هو جنوكتشي وما يمثله للمطبخ الإيطالي. غالبًا ما ألعب بأصل الكلمات لأنه يمكن للمرء أن يتعلم عن تطور الجنس البشري ويتخيل كيف تتحد جوانب معينة من الحياة اليومية مع اللغة. في حالة جنوكتشي ، يشير إلى كيف تشبه مفاصل أصابعنا شرائح العجين التي نصنع منها كرات العجين الصغيرة. ستجد في جميع أنحاء إيطاليا ألف طريقة لصنع جنوكتشي - بالطريقة الرومانية ، أو طريقة سردينيا ، أو ربما ترينتينو كانديرلي أو ، النسخة المقلية من إميليان. حتى أنه يستخدم جنوكتشي في الحلوى في صقلية - هناك طرق عديدة! 

ومع ذلك ، فإن أشهرها هو بلا شك نوكي البطاطس. يعود تاريخهم إلى نهاية القرن الثامن عشر عندما أ أجبرت مجاعة القمح على إضافة البطاطس إلى الخبز أو وصفات المعكرونة. وهذه الإضافة بالتحديد إلى عجينة الطحين والماء أو ما يسمى بـ gnocchi Bignè ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع التحولات الصغيرة الأخرى ، وجدنا بعد قرن الوصفة الحديثة ، على غرار تحضير الزلابية اليوم المصنوع من خليط من البطاطس المسلوقة ، البيض والملح والقليل من الدقيق. هذه العملية شاقة للغاية ولكن بالتأكيد الجزء الأصعب هو العثور على البطاطس المناسبة: دقيق وبدون الكثير من الرطوبة. كلما رطب البطاطس ، كلما احتجنا إلى المزيد من الدقيق لضمان بقاء العجين مضغوطًا واحتفاظًا بشكله بنجاح أثناء الغليان. ومع ذلك ، ليست هذه هي المشكلة الأكبر ، فإن إضافة الكثير من الدقيق قد يصرف ذوقنا عن النكهة الرئيسية ، وهي البطاطس. هذه بالتأكيد أهم ما يميز الذوق الإيطالي: السعي وراء جودة المنتج ، وتعزيز نكهته الطبيعية دون الكثير من الالتباس. 

أخيرًا ، لا يزال هناك مجال للتفكير النهائي. أريد أن أربط أسلوب حياتنا الحالي ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار جائحة COVID-19 ، بطريقتنا الغربية المتميزة في الحياة. على الرغم من أنه كان علينا التكيف مع نهج مختلف تمامًا في نشاطنا اليومي ، مثل تقييد حركتنا وعدم قدرتنا على السفر في كل نزوة ، لا يزال بإمكاننا إرضاء خيالنا بطبق من "الذوق" الحقيقي. ما زلنا محظوظين ، ومن مسؤوليتنا ، بصفتنا ممارسين في عالم فن الطهي ، التعاون لتحقيق هدف مشترك وهو القضاء على الجوع على كوكبنا.  

نحن بحاجة إلى تغيير أساليبنا الآن وبناء عالم أفضل. يساعدنا التعلم من ماضينا على اكتساب المعرفة الصحيحة عن كيفية تكيف تقاليدنا في الطهي لمقاومة قسوة الطبيعة. إن التهديد الأكبر في الوقت الحاضر هو الجنس البشري نفسه. نحن ندرك أن لدينا القوة الحقيقية لمواجهة التحديات الجديدة التي تنتظرنا ، مدركين أن كل واحد منا يمكنه ويجب عليه إحداث فرق. هذه الفكرة الأخيرة تقربنا كجهات فاعلة في مجال تذوق الطعام ، كما هو الحال في سوق سياحي ، وتساعدنا على الاجتماع معًا بدلاً من التفريق ، للتغلب على مخاوفنا بدلاً من الخضوع لتحديات جديدة ، كما تساعدنا أيضًا على تعزيز رغبتنا في المشاركة ضيافتنا. في إيطاليا ، كما هو الحال في العديد من البلدان الأخرى ، نظهر كرم الضيافة من خلال إضافة مكان إضافي على طاولة الطعام وقضاء ساعات طويلة في الأكل والغناء والاستمتاع بالحياة معًا. هذه هي أصدق متعة الذوق.

بقلم ماسيمو بونماساري. حررت بواسطة Erik Wolf.

حصة في الفيسبوك
حصة على التغريد
حصة على LinkedIn
حصة على بينتيريست

Taste

What is Taste? An Italian perspective.

Listening to one of Ludovico Einaudi’s latest compositions makes me think. Without any specific or consistent theme, the music carries my thoughts far away from the university library full of books, where I am seated. It is like it has lost its essence. Once full of people sharing their time together, where just a simple glimpse of an eye could make you feel alive and aware. Social distancing does not really work for human nature.

While absent-minded, the same music pushes me to gaze into the horizon. This picturesque view enchants me, its changing shades of color leading me every day, after sunset, to wander among the infinite. I often think about this moving vision, because I do not know what hides behind those hills and mountains. I am curious by nature and can only try to imagine a future reality in those new places. This is the dream that brings me back to consciousness and which inspires answers to these questions: What are you looking for? What pushes you forward? And what characterizes you as a person? In my case, the answer is an unstoppable desire to travel and learn about new cultures, new people and new forms of expression. And above all, it is that innate desire to discover how people of a certain territory express themselves through their way of cooking, eating and taking care of their local food production. Another activity I love while traveling is to imagine how the various landscapes and their hidden ingredients could mix together in order to create new dishes. For example, I live in a house above the Onyar River in Girona, Spain. From my window, in the springtime, I will see carp, algae, lime tree leaves and flowers, but also a lot of water flowing out to the sea. It sounds like an easy life, but just imagine trying to create a local recipe with ingredients like those.

However, I don’t want to write about culinary innovation. I’m thinking more about the characteristics of how Italian food tastes. Its taste echoes the notes of Einaudi’s “Seven days walking” composition and its “rhythmic cadence” creating a contrasting feeling, namely nostalgia. Sometimes it happens that an emotional turmoil makes you sad and disheartened, with a great desire to return to places of your past to find again hope and passion. In other words, to rediscover something that makes you feel happy and good.

There are various ways to overcome, or at least, coexist with, nostalgia. One is to belong to a community. To this end, the first thing I did was to look for Einaudi’s birthplace. As I suspected, he is Piedmontese like me. I don’t know him personally. I don’t even know where he is now, but immediately in my mind, I started an imaginary culinary walk with him in the Langhe hills of Piedmont, along trails in the Alps, between the lakes and my home town of Ivrea. Immediately I feel better – happy again, but just to realize that I spent so many hours sitting here forgetting about lunchtime. Perhaps, it is the real sensation of hunger that causes nostalgia, but I cannot leave only half-happy. Instead, I continue to search for more knowledge about food, allowing me to eat with my eyes and satiate my desire for Italian food. While looking into the digital world, I found that my new imaginary friend was interviewed by The Guardian newspaper. He mentioned an extremely simple recipe, and one I know too. I also remember returning home and smelling that delicious scent of brown butter and sage. When I smelled it, I instantly knew that my grandmother had just made fresh gnocchi.

My mouth is already watering. Therefore, I stop dreaming and hurry to explain to you what gnocchi are and what they represent for Italian cuisine. Quite often I play with the etymology of words because one can learn about the evolution of humankind and visualize how certain aspects of daily life combine with language. In the case of gnocchi, it refers to how the knuckles of our fingers resemble the strips of dough from which we make the little balls of dough. Throughout Italy you will find a thousand ways to make gnocchi – the Roman way, the Sardinian way, or maybe the Trentino canederli or, the Emilian fried version. Gnocchi is even used in dessert in Sicily – there are so many ways! 

The most famous, however, is undoubtedly the potato gnocchi. Their history dates back to the end of the 18th century when a wheat famine forced the addition of potatoes in bread or pasta recipes. And it is precisely this addition to a flour and water dough or the so-called gnocchi Bignè, combined with other small transformations, that after a century we find the modern recipe, similar to today’s preparation of dumplings made from a mixture of boiled potatoes, egg, salt, and very little flour. The process is quite laborious but certainly, the most difficult part is finding the right potato: floury and without a lot of moisture. The moister the potato, the more flour we need to ensure that the dough remains compact and successfully retains its shape while boiling. However, that is not the biggest problem, adding too much flour would distract our palate from the main flavor, namely the potato. This is certainly the greatest characteristic of Italian taste: the pursuit of product quality, enhancing its natural flavor without much confusion. 

Finally, there is still room for a final reflection. I want to link our present lifestyle, bearing in mind the COVID-19 pandemic, with our privileged Western way of life. Although we had to adjust to a completely different approach to our everyday activity, like restricting our mobility and being unable to travel on every whim, we still can satisfy our imagination with a plate of genuine “taste”. We are lucky still, and it is our responsibility, as practitioners in the world of gastronomy, to collaborate on a common goal of eliminating hunger on our planet.  

We need to change our ways now and build a better world. Learning from our past helps us to gain the right knowledge of how our culinary traditions have adapted to resist the inclemency of nature. Nowadays the biggest threat is humankind itself. We are aware that we have the real strength to face the new challenges that await us, aware that every one of us can and must make a difference. This last thought brings us close as gastronomic actors, such as at a tourist market, and helps us to come together rather than be drawn apart, to overcome our fears rather than succumbing to new challenges, and also helping us to nurture our desire to share our hospitality. In Italy, as in many other countries, we show hospitality by adding an extra place at the dining table and spending many hours eating, singing, and enjoying life together. This is the truest pleasure of taste.

Written by Massimo Bonmassari. Edited by Erik Wolf.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest