味道

什么是味道? 意大利视角。

听Ludovico Einaudi的最新作品之一让我思考。 没有任何特定或一致的主题,音乐使我的思绪远离我所坐着的大学图书馆。 就像它失去了本质。 一旦人满为患,一起分享时光,只要瞥一眼就可以使您感到充满活力和知觉。 远离社会并不能真正为人性所用。

尽管心不在a,但同样的音乐却使我凝视着地平线。 风景如画的景色使我着迷,其变化多端的色彩使我每天日落之后,在无尽之中徘徊。 我经常想起这个动人的愿景,因为我不知道这些山丘背后隐藏着什么。 我天生好奇,只能想像那些新地方的未来。 这是使我恢复意识并激发对以下问题的答案的梦想:您在寻找什么? 是什么推动你前进的? 那么,您作为一个人的特征是什么? 就我而言,答案是旅行和学习新文化,新人们和新表现形式的不可阻挡的愿望。 最重要的是,人们天生渴望发现某个地区的人们如何通过烹饪,饮食和照料当地食物的方式表达自己。 我旅行时喜欢的另一项活动是想象各种景观及其隐藏的成分如何混合在一起以创造新的菜肴。 例如,我住在西班牙赫罗纳Onyar河上方的房子里。 在春天,我从窗户上看到鲤鱼,藻类,lime树的叶子和花朵,但也有大量的水流向大海。 这听起来像轻松的生活,但请想象一下尝试使用此类配料创建本地食谱。

但是,我不想写关于烹饪创新的文章。 我正在更多地考虑意大利食品的口味特征。 它的味道呼应了Einaudi的“七日游”构图和“节奏韵律”,营造出一种对比的感觉,即怀旧。 有时会发生情绪动荡,使您难过和沮丧,并渴望返回过去,重新寻找希望和激情。 换句话说,重新发现让您感到快乐和美好的事物。

有多种方法可以克服或至少与怀旧并存。 一个是属于一个社区。 为此,我要做的第一件事就是寻找Einaudi的出生地。 我怀疑他是像我一样的皮埃蒙特人。 我个人不认识他。 我什至不知道他现在在哪里,但是在我的脑海中,我立即和他一起在皮埃蒙特的朗格山上进行了一次虚构的美食之旅,沿着阿尔卑斯山的小径,在湖泊和我的家乡伊夫雷亚之间。 立刻我感觉好多了,再次感到高兴,但只是意识到我在这里呆了很多时间却忘记了午餐时间。 也许,真正的饥饿感会引起怀旧,但我不能只留下半点幸福。 取而代之的是,我继续寻找有关食物的更多知识,让我用眼睛吃饭并满足对意大利食物的渴望。 在研究数字世界时,我发现我的新想象中的朋友接受了《卫报》的采访。 他提到了一个非常简单的食谱,我也知道。 我还记得回到家时闻到了褐色黄油和鼠尾草的可口气味。 当我闻到它的味道时,我立即知道我祖母刚煮过 汤团.

我的嘴已经在流水。 因此,我不再做梦,着急向您解释什么是意大利面以及它们代表的意大利美食。 我经常会用词的词源来研究,因为人们可以了解人类的进化并形象化日常生活中某些方面与语言的结合。 在面的情况下,它指的是我们手指的指关节如何类似于面团条,从中我们制成面团团。 在整个意大利,您会发现一千种制作面的方法-罗马方式,撒丁岛方式,或者Trentino canederli或Emilian油炸版本。 在西西里岛,面no甚至被用于甜点中-有很多方法! 

然而,最著名的无疑是马铃薯汤团。 他们的历史可以追溯到18世纪末,当时 小麦饥荒迫使面包或面食食谱中添加了土豆。 恰好是面粉和水面团或所谓的意大利面gno的这种添加,再加上其他一些小变化,经过一个世纪的发展,我们找到了现代食谱,类似于今天用煮土豆制成的饺子,鸡蛋,盐和很少的面粉。 这个过程很费力,但可以肯定的是,最困难的部分是找到合适的马铃薯:面粉且没有大量水分。 马铃薯越湿,我们需要的面粉越多,以确保面团保持紧密并在煮沸时成功保持其形状。 但是,这不是最大的问题,添加过多的面粉会使我们的味觉偏离主要风味,即土豆。 这无疑是意大利风味的最大特征:追求产品质量,增强其天然风味,而又不会造成太多混乱。 

最后,仍有进行最后思考的空间。 考虑到COVID-19大流行,我想将我们目前的生活方式与我们特权的西方生活方式联系起来。 尽管我们不得不调整完全不同的方式来进行日常活动,例如限制行动能力和无法随心所欲地旅行,但我们仍然可以用一盘真正的“口味”来满足我们的想象。 我们仍然很幸运,作为美食界的从业者,我们有责任共同致力于消除我们星球上的饥饿这一共同目标。  

我们现在需要改变我们的方式,并建立一个更美好的世界。 从过去中学习可以帮助我们正确地了解我们的烹饪传统如何适应自然界。 如今最大的威胁是人类自身。 我们意识到,我们有真正的力量去面对等待着我们的新挑战,意识到我们每个人都可以而且必须有所作为。 最后的想法使我们成为美食家,例如在旅游市场上,与我们接近,并帮助我们团结起来而不是被分开,克服了我们的恐惧而不是屈服于新的挑战,还帮助我们培育了分享的愿望我们的款待。 与其他许多国家一样,在意大利,我们通过在餐桌旁增加一个额外的位置并花很多时间一起吃饭,唱歌和享受生活来表现出热情好客。 这是最真实的品尝乐趣。

由Massimo Bonmassari撰写。 编辑者 Erik Wolf.

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

Taste

What is Taste? An Italian perspective.

Listening to one of Ludovico Einaudi’s latest compositions makes me think. Without any specific or consistent theme, the music carries my thoughts far away from the university library full of books, where I am seated. It is like it has lost its essence. Once full of people sharing their time together, where just a simple glimpse of an eye could make you feel alive and aware. Social distancing does not really work for human nature.

While absent-minded, the same music pushes me to gaze into the horizon. This picturesque view enchants me, its changing shades of color leading me every day, after sunset, to wander among the infinite. I often think about this moving vision, because I do not know what hides behind those hills and mountains. I am curious by nature and can only try to imagine a future reality in those new places. This is the dream that brings me back to consciousness and which inspires answers to these questions: What are you looking for? What pushes you forward? And what characterizes you as a person? In my case, the answer is an unstoppable desire to travel and learn about new cultures, new people and new forms of expression. And above all, it is that innate desire to discover how people of a certain territory express themselves through their way of cooking, eating and taking care of their local food production. Another activity I love while traveling is to imagine how the various landscapes and their hidden ingredients could mix together in order to create new dishes. For example, I live in a house above the Onyar River in Girona, Spain. From my window, in the springtime, I will see carp, algae, lime tree leaves and flowers, but also a lot of water flowing out to the sea. It sounds like an easy life, but just imagine trying to create a local recipe with ingredients like those.

However, I don’t want to write about culinary innovation. I’m thinking more about the characteristics of how Italian food tastes. Its taste echoes the notes of Einaudi’s “Seven days walking” composition and its “rhythmic cadence” creating a contrasting feeling, namely nostalgia. Sometimes it happens that an emotional turmoil makes you sad and disheartened, with a great desire to return to places of your past to find again hope and passion. In other words, to rediscover something that makes you feel happy and good.

There are various ways to overcome, or at least, coexist with, nostalgia. One is to belong to a community. To this end, the first thing I did was to look for Einaudi’s birthplace. As I suspected, he is Piedmontese like me. I don’t know him personally. I don’t even know where he is now, but immediately in my mind, I started an imaginary culinary walk with him in the Langhe hills of Piedmont, along trails in the Alps, between the lakes and my home town of Ivrea. Immediately I feel better – happy again, but just to realize that I spent so many hours sitting here forgetting about lunchtime. Perhaps, it is the real sensation of hunger that causes nostalgia, but I cannot leave only half-happy. Instead, I continue to search for more knowledge about food, allowing me to eat with my eyes and satiate my desire for Italian food. While looking into the digital world, I found that my new imaginary friend was interviewed by The Guardian newspaper. He mentioned an extremely simple recipe, and one I know too. I also remember returning home and smelling that delicious scent of brown butter and sage. When I smelled it, I instantly knew that my grandmother had just made fresh gnocchi.

My mouth is already watering. Therefore, I stop dreaming and hurry to explain to you what gnocchi are and what they represent for Italian cuisine. Quite often I play with the etymology of words because one can learn about the evolution of humankind and visualize how certain aspects of daily life combine with language. In the case of gnocchi, it refers to how the knuckles of our fingers resemble the strips of dough from which we make the little balls of dough. Throughout Italy you will find a thousand ways to make gnocchi – the Roman way, the Sardinian way, or maybe the Trentino canederli or, the Emilian fried version. Gnocchi is even used in dessert in Sicily – there are so many ways! 

The most famous, however, is undoubtedly the potato gnocchi. Their history dates back to the end of the 18th century when a wheat famine forced the addition of potatoes in bread or pasta recipes. And it is precisely this addition to a flour and water dough or the so-called gnocchi Bignè, combined with other small transformations, that after a century we find the modern recipe, similar to today’s preparation of dumplings made from a mixture of boiled potatoes, egg, salt, and very little flour. The process is quite laborious but certainly, the most difficult part is finding the right potato: floury and without a lot of moisture. The moister the potato, the more flour we need to ensure that the dough remains compact and successfully retains its shape while boiling. However, that is not the biggest problem, adding too much flour would distract our palate from the main flavor, namely the potato. This is certainly the greatest characteristic of Italian taste: the pursuit of product quality, enhancing its natural flavor without much confusion. 

Finally, there is still room for a final reflection. I want to link our present lifestyle, bearing in mind the COVID-19 pandemic, with our privileged Western way of life. Although we had to adjust to a completely different approach to our everyday activity, like restricting our mobility and being unable to travel on every whim, we still can satisfy our imagination with a plate of genuine “taste”. We are lucky still, and it is our responsibility, as practitioners in the world of gastronomy, to collaborate on a common goal of eliminating hunger on our planet.  

We need to change our ways now and build a better world. Learning from our past helps us to gain the right knowledge of how our culinary traditions have adapted to resist the inclemency of nature. Nowadays the biggest threat is humankind itself. We are aware that we have the real strength to face the new challenges that await us, aware that every one of us can and must make a difference. This last thought brings us close as gastronomic actors, such as at a tourist market, and helps us to come together rather than be drawn apart, to overcome our fears rather than succumbing to new challenges, and also helping us to nurture our desire to share our hospitality. In Italy, as in many other countries, we show hospitality by adding an extra place at the dining table and spending many hours eating, singing, and enjoying life together. This is the truest pleasure of taste.

Written by Massimo Bonmassari. Edited by Erik Wolf.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest