المطبخ المحلي

هل يمكن للمطبخ المحلي أن يدفع تعافي السياحة؟

"عالم كامل من المسافرين المحبين للطعام ينتظرون السفر مرة أخرى. حتى نتمكن من ذلك ، نحصل على أفكار ونخطط لرحلاتنا الكبيرة القادمة. هناك العديد من الخيارات ، كيف سنقرر إلى أين نسافر أولاً؟ تساعد إستراتيجية التسويق المطورة جيدًا وجهة تقديم الطعام على التميز بين الحشود للمسافرين المحتملين. والآن حان الوقت لبدء الحصول على وجهتك على راداراتنا! "

حقائب معبأة ، حجز الفندق ، شراء الرحلات الجوية. كل شيء جاهز ولا مكان للذهاب إليه. تبدو مألوفة؟

كان من المفترض أن تكون البداية الجريئة لعقد جديد مثير ، مع "2020" الطموح المزخرف على مواقع الويب والمواد التسويقية ، في المقالات ومقاطع الفيديو ، وإلى حد كبير في كل مكان حول العالم. ثم ضرب COVID.

قلة منا لا يزالون على قيد الحياة اليوم عندما ضربت الإنفلونزا الإسبانية في عام 1918 ، ومع ذلك لا يزال العالم يتذكر تأثيرها في أعقاب أعظم حرب شهدها العالم حتى ذلك التاريخ. وغني عن البيان أن الأجيال التي تلينا ستتذكر كوفيد وآثاره المدمرة على الأفراد والأسر والحكومات والاقتصادات والبنى التحتية. لم يُترك أي مكان على وجه الأرض دون أن يمسه انتشار COVID القاسي.

"هذا ، أيضًا ، سوف يمر" هو قول فارسي يحسن بنا أن نتبناه الآن. في حين أن الوباء لم يخلف وراءنا بعد ، إلا أن هناك ضوءًا في نهاية النفق. تعمل اللقاحات المبكرة في طريقها إلى أنظمة التوزيع ، وهناك المزيد من اللقاحات في الطريق. يتم استخدام العلاجات مع بعض النجاح ، ويساعد الاختبار في الحد من انتشار المرض أيضًا. ومع ذلك ، بدافع الصعوبات ، ننمو ونتطور. وكلنا ما زلنا ننمو ونتطور. لم نصل بعد إلى نهاية رحلتنا الجماعية.

في الوقت الذي ننتظر فيه انتهاء الوباء ، لم يفقد الأفراد ، أي المستهلكين والمسافرين ، حبنا للطعام والشراب والسفر. نحن نشاهد برامج الطعام والسفر على Netflix و YouTube وأماكن أخرى. نحن نقرأ مدوناتنا المفضلة عن الطعام والسفر. يسيل لعابنا على الصور الجميلة للمواد الإباحية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وربما الأهم من ذلك ، أننا نطبخ أكثر في المنزل ، ونبحث عن وصفات عائلية ، ونشتري المزيد من منتجات الأطعمة والمشروبات من المنتجين المحليين. بعبارة أخرى ، نحن نركز على ثقافات الطهي لدينا أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

وإذا كان هذا صحيحًا ، فلنأخذ هذا المنطق خطوة أخرى إلى الأمام. يُظهر مسح سريع لنشاط وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في National Geographic أن 6 من كل 12 من منشورات السفر الأخيرة كانت ذات طابع غذائي. كما قلنا أعلاه ، على الرغم من الوباء ، ما زلنا نحب الطعام والشراب والسفر. الآن هو بالضبط الوقت الذي يجب أن تدافع فيه منظمات تسويق الوجهة عن القضية وتروج لثقافات الطهي الخاصة بها عندما يبدأ الناس السفر مرة أخرى. يبحث المستهلكون - المسافرون - عن الأفكار والإلهام لرحلاتنا القادمة. نحن نصنع قوائمنا الآن ، والآن هو الوقت الذي يجب أن تكون فيه الوجهات على رادارات المسافرين. في حين أن المطاعم والمقاهي ومصانع الجعة ومصانع النبيذ ودروس الطهي وفعاليات الطهي والأنشطة الأخرى لا تملك المال للترويج لأنفسها الآن ، يجب أن تقوم الوجهات بالترويج لها.

ما أنواع الترويج نعني؟ في صناعة سياحة الأغذية والمشروبات لدينا ، غالبًا ما نرى منظمات تسويق الوجهة تنشر أدلة أو قوائم المطاعم لكل خيار طعام في منطقتهم. كما نراهم يفتخرون بفخر بإحصاء جميع المأكولات المختلفة المتوفرة في منطقتهم (بما في ذلك السلاسل) ، كما لو أن عددًا كبيرًا من المأكولات المتاحة هو تاج الإنجاز. أو في بعض الأحيان ، يركزون فقط على خيارات الذواقة التي لا تروق إلا لأقلية من المسافرين. لسوء الحظ بالنسبة لهذه الوجهات ، لا تحفز هذه الأساليب عشاق الطعام على السفر. عندما يزور عشاق الطعام منطقة ما ، نريد تذوق الطعام الذي تشتهر به منطقتك. كأميركي ، لن أسافر إلى إيطاليا وأبحث عن الطعام الصيني. لن يسافر المسافر البريطاني إلى اليابان ويبحث عن الطعام الأمريكي أو الفرنسي. والمسافر المكسيكي لن يزور الهند بحثًا عن الطعام التايلاندي. انت وجدت الفكرة.

تواجه دول "العالم الجديد" مثل الولايات المتحدة وكندا وأستراليا ونيوزيلندا تحديات مختلفة ، حيث أن مطابخها ليست بمئات أو آلاف السنين ، مثل تلك الموجودة في العديد من البلدان الأوروبية أو الآسيوية أو الأفريقية. ومع ذلك ، في هذه المناطق ، يمكن للزوار العثور على مسرات أخرى تساعد في تحديد ثقافات الطهي "للعالم الجديد". أفكر في لفائف الكركند في نيو إنجلاند وكندا الأطلسية (بدون كرفس ، من فضلك) ، أو الجدل الأبدي بين أستراليا ونيوزيلندا ، حول من كان أول من كان مع لامينجتون.

غالبًا ما تمتلك دول العالم الجديد صناعات قوية للنبيذ والبيرة والمشروبات الروحية ، وترث هذه المنتجات النكهات المختلفة من المكونات والتضاريس في مناطقها ، مما يجعلها في كثير من الأحيان مختلفة بطبيعتها عن بعضها البعض.

هل تتذكر في رحلة سابقة عندما قدمك صديق أو زميل إلى الجن المفضل لديهم في إنجلترا أو الويسكي في اسكتلندا أو أيرلندا؟ أو عندما أحضرك صديق من جنوب إفريقيا معك إلى الشواء ، أو عندما أطلعتك جدة هندية على مجموعة واسعة من التوابل التي تضعها في جارام ماسالا الخاص بها. هذه الأنواع من التجارب التي تسبب مثل هذه الذكريات طويلة الأمد تستند أولاً إلى عنصر مهم في ثقافة الطهي المحلية. وثانيًا ، تتضمن هذه التجارب عنصرًا شخصيًا - ما نسميه "الوجوه وراء الأماكن" - أي كرم الضيافة والشخصية المحلية والعاطفة الفردية التي تترك بصمة مهمة على ذاكرتنا.

الأزمات تسبب لنا الشرنقة. لقد رأينا هذا بعد 9 سبتمبر ، عندما حوّل الناس انتباههم إلى أصدقائهم وعائلاتهم. وأزمة COVID الحالية لها نفس التأثير. نحن نعيش في شرنقة ، لكننا نحلم أيضًا بالوقت الذي يمكننا فيه # السفر مرة أخرى.

في نهاية عام 2020 ، تم إطلاق جمعيتنا عواصم الطهيوهو برنامج اعتماد لتسليط الضوء على ثقافات الطهي الجديرة بالملاحظة كأداة للسياحة المتجددة. في عالم تتزايد فيه العولمة في قطاعات الطعام والشراب ، تساعد Culinary Capitals على حماية المطبخ المحلي وتراث الطهي المستوطن. تعد Culinary Capitals مفيدة بشكل خاص للوجهات الأصغر ، والتي تقدم للمسافرين الفضوليين مجموعة واسعة من الأطعمة والمشروبات والخبرات الزراعية الموجودة في مصدر الإنتاج ، ناهيك عن عدد أقل من الحشود ، وحركة مرور أقل ، وتلوث أقل ، وغالبًا ما تكون أسعارًا أقل. تزيد شركة Culinary Capitals من الفخر المحلي وتساعد على تحويل السكان المحليين إلى سفراء طهي لمنطقتهم. يمكن لمنظمات تسويق الوجهة ومحترفي التسويق السياحي حول العالم القيام بذلك تعرف على المزيد حول Culinary Capitals واطلب موعدًا لمعرفة المزيد هنا.

فهل يمكن للمطبخ المحلي أن يدفع انتعاش السياحة؟ بدون أدنى شك. كان الطعام والشراب بالفعل أحد أكبر محركات السياحة قبل الوباء. ويمكنك استخدامها مرة أخرى للمساعدة في دفع السياحة إلى منطقتك والمساعدة في تجديد اقتصادك المحلي.

كتب بواسطة Erik Wolf وروزانا أولسون.

إريك هو مؤسس صناعة تجارة الغذاء والمدير التنفيذي لـ World Food Travel Association، الهيئة الرائدة في العالم في مجال سياحة الأغذية والمشروبات. هو ناشر هل لديك شوكة السفر، مؤلف كتاب سياحة الطهي: الحصاد الخفي ، وهو أيضًا متحدث مطلوب بشدة في جميع أنحاء العالم حول سياحة فن الطهي. وقد ظهر في نيويورك تايمز ونيوزويك وفوربس ، وعلى سي إن إن ، سكاي تي في ، بي بي سي ، هيئة الإذاعة الأسترالية ، PeterGreenberg.com ، وغيرها من وسائل الإعلام الرائدة.

روزانا أولسون هو حاليًا متدرب تسويق في World Food Travel Association.

حصة في الفيسبوك
حصة على التغريد
حصة على LinkedIn
حصة على بينتيريست

Local Cuisine

Can Local Cuisine Drive Our Tourism Recovery?

“A whole world of food-loving travelers is waiting to travel again. Until we can, we’re getting ideas and planning for our next big trips. There are so many options, how will we decide where to travel first? A well-developed marketing strategy helps a food-forward destination to stand out in the crowd to potential travelers. And now is the time to start getting your destination on our radars!”

Bags packed, hotel booked, flights bought. All ready and nowhere to go. Sound familiar?

It was supposed to be the bold start of an exciting new decade, with the ambitious “2020” emblazoned on websites and marketing materials, in articles and videos, and pretty much everywhere around the world. Then COVID hit.

Few of us are still alive today when the Spanish Flu hit in 1918, yet the world still remembers its impact on the heels of the greatest war the world had ever seen as of that date. It goes without saying that generations after us will remember COVID and its devastating effects on individuals, families, governments, economies and infrastructures. Nowhere on Earth has been left untouched by the cruel reach of COVID.

“This, too, shall pass” is a Persian adage that we would do well to embrace right now.  While the pandemic is not yet behind us, there is nevertheless a light at the end of the tunnel. Early vaccines are working their way into distribution systems, and more vaccines are on the way. Treatments are being used with some success, and testing is helping to curb the spread as well. That said, out of hardship, we grow and evolve. And we are all still growing and evolving. We are not at the end of our collective journey just yet.

While we are waiting for the pandemic to end, individuals, that is to say, consumers and travelers, have not lost our love of food, drink and travel. We’re watching food and travel shows on Netflix, YouTube and elsewhere. We’re reading our favorite food and travel blogs. We’re drooling over pretty pictures of food porn on social media. And perhaps most importantly, we’re cooking more at home, researching family recipes, and buying more food and beverage products from local producers. In other words, we are focusing on our culinary cultures more than ever.

And if that is true, then let’s take that logic one step further.  A quick scan of National Geographic’s social media activity shows that 6 out of every 12 of their recent travel posts were food-themed. Like we said above, despite the pandemic, we still love food, drink and travel. Now is exactly the time that destination marketing organizations should be championing the cause and promoting their own culinary cultures for when people start traveling again. Consumers – travelers – are looking for ideas and inspiration for our next trips. We’re making our lists now, and now is when destinations need to be getting on the travelers’ radars. While restaurants, cafes, breweries, wineries, cooking classes, culinary events and other activities don’t have the money to promote themselves right now, destinations should be doing the promoting for them.

What kinds of promotion do we mean? In our food and beverage tourism industry, we often see destination marketing organizations publish restaurant guides or lists of every food option in their area. We also see them proudly boasting a tally of all the different cuisines available in their area (chains included), as if a high number of available cuisines is a crown of achievement. Or sometimes, they focus only on the gourmet options, which appeal only to a minority of travelers.  Unfortunately for these destinations, these approaches do not motivate food lovers to travel.  When food lovers visit an area, we want to taste food that your area is known for. As an American, I am not going to travel to Italy and look for Chinese food. A British traveler is not going to travel to Japan and look for American or French food. And a Mexican traveler is not going to visit India looking for Thai food. You get the idea.

“New World” countries like the US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand have different challenges, as their cuisines are not hundreds or thousands of years old, like those from many European, Asian or African countries. Still, in these areas, visitors can find other delights that are helping to define these “New World” culinary cultures. I’m thinking of lobster rolls in New England and Atlantic Canada (no celery, please), or the eternal debate between Australia and New Zealand, over who was first with the Lamington.

New World countries often have robust wine, beer and spirits industries, and those products inherit the different flavors from the ingredients and terroir of their areas, making them more often than not, inherently different from one another.

Do you remember on a previous trip when a friend or colleague introduced you to their favorite gin in England or whisky in Scotland or Ireland? Or when a South African friend brought you along to a braai, or when an Indian grandmother showed you the wide range of spices that she puts into her own, homemade garam masala. These types of experiences that cause such long-lasting memories are first based on an important element of the local culinary culture. And secondly, these experiences involve a personal element – what we call the “faces behind the places” – that is the hospitality, the local personality, and the individual emotion that makes such a significant imprint on our memories.

Crises cause us to cocoon. We saw this after 9/11, when people turned their attention back to their friends and families. And the current COVID crisis is having the same effect. We are cocooning, but also dreaming of the time when we can #TravelAgain.

At the end of 2020, our Association launched Culinary Capitals, an accreditation program to put the spotlight on noteworthy culinary cultures as a tool for regenerative tourism. In a world with increasing globalization in the food and drink sectors, Culinary Capitals helps to protect the local cuisine, and endemic culinary heritage. Culinary Capitals is particularly beneficial for smaller destinations, which offer curious travelers a wide range of food, drink and agricultural experiences located at the source of production, not to mention fewer crowds, less traffic, less pollution and often, lower prices. Culinary Capitals increases local pride and helps turn local residents into culinary ambassadors for their area. Destination marketing organizations and tourism marketing professionals around the world can learn more about Culinary Capitals and request an appointment to learn more here.

So can local cuisine drive tourism recovery? Without a doubt. Food and drink were already one of the biggest drivers of tourism before the pandemic. And you can use them again to help drive tourism to your area and help regenerate your local economy.

Written by Erik Wolf and Rosanna Olsson.

Erik is the founder of the food travel trade industry, and Executive Director of the World Food Travel Association, the world’s leading authority on food and beverage tourism. He is the publisher of Have Fork Will Travel, author of Culinary Tourism: The Hidden Harvest, and is also a highly sought speaker around the world on gastronomy tourism. He has been featured in The New York Times, Newsweek, and Forbes, and on CNN, Sky TV, the BBC, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, PeterGreenberg.com, and other leading media outlets.

Rosanna Olsson is currently a marketing intern at the World Food Travel Association.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest