当地美食

当地美食能推动我们的旅游业复苏吗?

“全世界的美食旅行者都在等待再次旅行。 在我们力所能及的范围内,我们将为下一步的出行提供想法和计划。 有很多选择,我们将如何决定首先去哪里? 精心制定的营销策略可帮助食品转发目的地在潜在游客中脱颖而出。 现在是时候开始在我们的雷达上确定您的目的地了!”

打包行李,预订酒店,购买机票。 一切准备就绪,无处可去。 听起来有点熟?

它被认为是令人振奋的新十年的大胆开始,雄心勃勃的“ 2020”印在网站和营销材料上,文章和视频中以及全世界几乎所有地方。 然后COVID命中。

今天,当1918年西班牙流感爆发时,我们中很少有人还活着,但全世界仍然记得它对当时世界上最大的战争的影响。 毋庸置疑,我们后代会记住COVID及其对个人,家庭,政府,经济和基础设施的破坏性影响。 COVID的残酷触及地球上的任何地方。

“这也将过去”是波斯语的谚语,我们现在很乐意接受。 尽管大流行尚未到来,但隧道尽头仍然有曙光。 早期的疫苗正在进入分配系统,而更多的疫苗也在开发中。 疗法的使用取得了一些成功,测试也有助于遏制这种疾病的蔓延。 也就是说,出于艰辛,我们得以成长和发展。 而且我们都还在成长和发展。 我们还没有结束集体旅程。

在我们等待大流行结束时,个人,即消费者和旅行者,并没有失去我们对食物,饮料和旅行的热爱。 我们正在Netflix,YouTube和其他地方观看美食和旅行节目。 我们正在阅读我们最喜欢的美食和旅游博客。 我们在社交媒体上对漂亮的食物色情图片流口水。 也许最重要的是,我们正在在家中做饭,研究家庭食谱,并从当地生产商那里购买更多的食品和饮料产品。 换句话说,我们比以往任何时候都更加关注我们的烹饪文化。

如果这是真的,那么让我们再往前走一步。 对《国家地理》的社交媒体活动进行的快速扫描显示,他们最近每6个旅行中就有12个以食物为主题。 就像我们上面说的那样,尽管发生了大流行,我们仍然喜欢食物,饮料和旅行。 现在正是目的​​地营销组织应该在人们再次旅行时倡导事业并弘扬自己的烹饪文化的时候了。 消费者-旅行者-正在为我们的下次旅行寻找想法和灵感。 我们现在正在列出清单,现在正是目的​​地需要吸引旅行者注意的时候。 尽管餐厅,咖啡馆,啤酒厂,酿酒厂,烹饪班,烹饪活动和其他活动目前没有钱来宣传自己,但目的地应该为他们进行宣传。

我们是什么促销? 在我们的食品和饮料旅游业中,我们经常看到目的地营销组织发布其区域内的餐厅指南或每种食品的清单。 我们还看到他们自豪地夸耀其地区所有可用美食(包括连锁店)的合计,好像大量可用美食是成就之冠。 有时,他们只专注于美食选择,只吸引少数旅行者。 不幸的是,对于这些目的地,这些方法并没有激励美食爱好者旅行。 当美食爱好者参观某个地区时,我们想品尝您所在地区闻名的美食。 作为美国人,我不会去意大利寻找中国美食。 英国旅客不会前往日本寻找美国或法国美食。 一位墨西哥旅行者不会前往印度寻找泰国美食。 你明白了。

像美国,加拿大,澳大利亚和新西兰这样的“新世界”国家面临着不同的挑战,因为它们的美食没有数百或数千年的历史,就像许多欧洲,亚洲或非洲国家的美食一样。 尽管如此,在这些地区,游客还能找到其他有助于定义这些“新世界”烹饪文化的美食。 我想到的是新英格兰和加拿大大西洋地区的龙虾卷(请不要芹菜),或者澳大利亚和新西兰之间关于谁是拉明顿的第一人的永恒争论。

新世界国家通常拥有健壮的葡萄酒,啤酒和烈性酒行业,这些产品从其所在地区的成分和风土中继承了不同的风味,这使它们之间的内在差异往往不大。

您还记得上一次旅行时,朋友或同事向您介绍了他们最喜欢的英格兰杜松子酒或苏格兰或爱尔兰的威士忌吗? 或当一个南非朋友把您带到烤肉店时,或当印度祖母向您展示了她放入自己的自制garam masala中的各种香料时。 引起如此长久记忆的这些类型的体验首先基于当地烹饪文化的重要组成部分。 其次,这些经历涉及个人因素,我们称之为“地方背后的面孔”,即热情好客,当地人格和个人情感在我们的记忆中留下了深刻的烙印。

危机使我们陷入困境。 9/11之后,当人们将目光转向朋友和家人时,我们看到了这一点。 当前的COVID危机正在产生同样的效果。 我们正在茧中,也梦想着我们何时可以#TravelAgain。

2020年底,我们的协会成立了 美食之都,这是一项认证计划,着眼于值得注意的烹饪文化,以此作为再生旅游的工具。 在食品和饮料行业日益全球化的世界中,美食之都有助于保护当地美食和地方特色美食。 美食之都对小目的地尤其有利,因为小目的地为好奇的旅行者提供了位于生产源头的各种食品,饮料和农业经验,更不用说人数更少,交通更少,污染更少并且通常价格更低。 美食之都增加了当地的自豪感,并帮助当地居民成为其所在地区的美食大使。 世界各地的目的地营销组织和旅游营销专业人士可以 在此处了解有关美食之都的更多信息,并请求预约以在此处了解更多信息.

那么当地美食能推动旅游业复苏吗? 毫无疑问。 在大流行之前,食品和饮料已经是旅游业的最大驱动力之一。 而且,您可以再次使用它们来帮助将旅游业带到您所在的地区,并帮助您振兴当地经济。

作者 Erik Wolf 和罗珊娜·奥尔森(Rosanna Olsson)。

埃里克(Erik)是食品旅游贸易行业的创始人,也是食品行业的执行董事。 World Food Travel Association,是食品和饮料旅游业的世界领先权威。 他是《 有叉子会旅行,《烹饪旅游:隐藏的收获》一书的作者,也是美食旅游界在世界范围内备受追捧的演讲者。 他曾在《纽约时报》,《新闻周刊》和《福布斯》,美国有线电视新闻网,天空电视台,英国广播公司,澳大利亚广播公司,PeterGreenberg.com和其他领先的媒体上发表过报道。

罗珊娜·奥尔森(Rosanna Olsson) 目前是该公司的市场营销实习生 World Food Travel Association.

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

Local Cuisine

Can Local Cuisine Drive Our Tourism Recovery?

“A whole world of food-loving travelers is waiting to travel again. Until we can, we’re getting ideas and planning for our next big trips. There are so many options, how will we decide where to travel first? A well-developed marketing strategy helps a food-forward destination to stand out in the crowd to potential travelers. And now is the time to start getting your destination on our radars!”

Bags packed, hotel booked, flights bought. All ready and nowhere to go. Sound familiar?

It was supposed to be the bold start of an exciting new decade, with the ambitious “2020” emblazoned on websites and marketing materials, in articles and videos, and pretty much everywhere around the world. Then COVID hit.

Few of us are still alive today when the Spanish Flu hit in 1918, yet the world still remembers its impact on the heels of the greatest war the world had ever seen as of that date. It goes without saying that generations after us will remember COVID and its devastating effects on individuals, families, governments, economies and infrastructures. Nowhere on Earth has been left untouched by the cruel reach of COVID.

“This, too, shall pass” is a Persian adage that we would do well to embrace right now.  While the pandemic is not yet behind us, there is nevertheless a light at the end of the tunnel. Early vaccines are working their way into distribution systems, and more vaccines are on the way. Treatments are being used with some success, and testing is helping to curb the spread as well. That said, out of hardship, we grow and evolve. And we are all still growing and evolving. We are not at the end of our collective journey just yet.

While we are waiting for the pandemic to end, individuals, that is to say, consumers and travelers, have not lost our love of food, drink and travel. We’re watching food and travel shows on Netflix, YouTube and elsewhere. We’re reading our favorite food and travel blogs. We’re drooling over pretty pictures of food porn on social media. And perhaps most importantly, we’re cooking more at home, researching family recipes, and buying more food and beverage products from local producers. In other words, we are focusing on our culinary cultures more than ever.

And if that is true, then let’s take that logic one step further.  A quick scan of National Geographic’s social media activity shows that 6 out of every 12 of their recent travel posts were food-themed. Like we said above, despite the pandemic, we still love food, drink and travel. Now is exactly the time that destination marketing organizations should be championing the cause and promoting their own culinary cultures for when people start traveling again. Consumers – travelers – are looking for ideas and inspiration for our next trips. We’re making our lists now, and now is when destinations need to be getting on the travelers’ radars. While restaurants, cafes, breweries, wineries, cooking classes, culinary events and other activities don’t have the money to promote themselves right now, destinations should be doing the promoting for them.

What kinds of promotion do we mean? In our food and beverage tourism industry, we often see destination marketing organizations publish restaurant guides or lists of every food option in their area. We also see them proudly boasting a tally of all the different cuisines available in their area (chains included), as if a high number of available cuisines is a crown of achievement. Or sometimes, they focus only on the gourmet options, which appeal only to a minority of travelers.  Unfortunately for these destinations, these approaches do not motivate food lovers to travel.  When food lovers visit an area, we want to taste food that your area is known for. As an American, I am not going to travel to Italy and look for Chinese food. A British traveler is not going to travel to Japan and look for American or French food. And a Mexican traveler is not going to visit India looking for Thai food. You get the idea.

“New World” countries like the US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand have different challenges, as their cuisines are not hundreds or thousands of years old, like those from many European, Asian or African countries. Still, in these areas, visitors can find other delights that are helping to define these “New World” culinary cultures. I’m thinking of lobster rolls in New England and Atlantic Canada (no celery, please), or the eternal debate between Australia and New Zealand, over who was first with the Lamington.

New World countries often have robust wine, beer and spirits industries, and those products inherit the different flavors from the ingredients and terroir of their areas, making them more often than not, inherently different from one another.

Do you remember on a previous trip when a friend or colleague introduced you to their favorite gin in England or whisky in Scotland or Ireland? Or when a South African friend brought you along to a braai, or when an Indian grandmother showed you the wide range of spices that she puts into her own, homemade garam masala. These types of experiences that cause such long-lasting memories are first based on an important element of the local culinary culture. And secondly, these experiences involve a personal element – what we call the “faces behind the places” – that is the hospitality, the local personality, and the individual emotion that makes such a significant imprint on our memories.

Crises cause us to cocoon. We saw this after 9/11, when people turned their attention back to their friends and families. And the current COVID crisis is having the same effect. We are cocooning, but also dreaming of the time when we can #TravelAgain.

At the end of 2020, our Association launched Culinary Capitals, an accreditation program to put the spotlight on noteworthy culinary cultures as a tool for regenerative tourism. In a world with increasing globalization in the food and drink sectors, Culinary Capitals helps to protect the local cuisine, and endemic culinary heritage. Culinary Capitals is particularly beneficial for smaller destinations, which offer curious travelers a wide range of food, drink and agricultural experiences located at the source of production, not to mention fewer crowds, less traffic, less pollution and often, lower prices. Culinary Capitals increases local pride and helps turn local residents into culinary ambassadors for their area. Destination marketing organizations and tourism marketing professionals around the world can learn more about Culinary Capitals and request an appointment to learn more here.

So can local cuisine drive tourism recovery? Without a doubt. Food and drink were already one of the biggest drivers of tourism before the pandemic. And you can use them again to help drive tourism to your area and help regenerate your local economy.

Written by Erik Wolf and Rosanna Olsson.

Erik is the founder of the food travel trade industry, and Executive Director of the World Food Travel Association, the world’s leading authority on food and beverage tourism. He is the publisher of Have Fork Will Travel, author of Culinary Tourism: The Hidden Harvest, and is also a highly sought speaker around the world on gastronomy tourism. He has been featured in The New York Times, Newsweek, and Forbes, and on CNN, Sky TV, the BBC, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, PeterGreenberg.com, and other leading media outlets.

Rosanna Olsson is currently a marketing intern at the World Food Travel Association.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest