استدامة غابرييل لايس

هل الأطعمة المحلية لوجهتك تأخذ المقعد الخلفي؟

مقالتنا السابقة عن منطقية بيولوجية تعكس الأطعمة أهمية الأطعمة المحلية كأداة لدعم أهداف التنمية المستدامة باستخدام مهرجانات الأطعمة أو المشروبات. تركز بعض الوجهات السياحية على ثقافة الطهي ، بينما يتعامل البعض الآخر مع الطعام على أنه مجرد ضرورة. لا تلعب الأطعمة المحلية دائمًا الدور الذي يمكنها ، وينبغي ، لجميع أنواع المسافرين.

في وجهات مثل إسبانيا والولايات المتحدة وأيرلندا وإيطاليا وغيرها ، يتوقع العديد من السياح الآن أنه من السهل العثور على تجارب الطعام المحلية. السياح الآخرون ينظرون إلى الطعام على أنه ليس أكثر من ضرورة. تتجاهل بعض الوجهات ثقافة الطهي في منطقتها المحلية أو تقلل من شأنها. الوجهات الأخرى ببساطة لا تدرك أهمية ثقافة الطهي في منطقتهم أو لا تعتقد أن لديهم بالفعل ثقافة.

في World Food Travel Association، نسعى إلى رعاية تنمية سياحة الطهي المستدامة. موضوع هذا العام قمة FoodTrex العالمية هي الاستدامة في السياحة الغذائية (أو سياحة فن الطهو إذا كنت تفضل ذلك).

تعد النظم الغذائية المحلية من أهم المساهمين الاقتصاديين في أي منطقة. أي خسارة في إنفاق السائحين على المنتجات الغذائية المحلية والخبرات هي خسارة مالية كبيرة للأعمال التجارية واقتصاد المنطقة. لذلك ، من مصلحة أي وجهة مساعدة الزوار على فهم سبب شراء المنتجات المحلية.

عندما ينغمس السائحون في تجارب الطعام المحلية أو يشترون من الشركات المستقلة الصغيرة التي تبيع المنتجات الغذائية من مصادر محلية ، فإن إنفاق السائحين هو ضخ جديد من النقود التي تبقى في الوجهة لمدة تصل إلى 7 مرات أطول من النقد الذي "يتم تصديره" إلى الشركة مقر السلاسل. ومع ذلك ، يخشى العديد من السياح تجربة تجارب طعام أو مشروبات جديدة. تختلف أسبابهم ، لكن النتيجة النهائية واحدة - يفضل الكثير منهم "الالتزام بما يعرفونه" وتناول وجباتهم في فنادقهم الدولية أو في سلاسل يتعرفون عليها.

من العوائق الرئيسية المتعلقة ببيع الأطعمة المحلية نقص الوعي والمعلومات المتاحة للسياح حول الأطعمة المحلية وممارسات السلامة. يسعى السياح إلى الأصالة ، ويمكن للوجهات والشركات زيادة قيمة وجاذبية المنتجات الغذائية المحلية والتجارب من خلال تقديمها بطريقة "مستساغة" للزوار.

يمكن أن يكون الحل شيئًا بسيطًا مثل إضافة معلومات أو لافتات تساعد العملاء على التعرف على ما إذا كان المنتج المعني منتجًا محليًا. أو أدخل أسلوب طهي محلي أو وصفة في مجلة أو فيديو. وشرح للزوار عدد السكان المحليين أو العائلات التي يتم دعمها من خلال إنفاقها في الشركات المحلية.

أثناء الترويج للأطعمة المحلية ، تواجه الشركات أيضًا المزيد من الحواجز بسبب الأسعار وقوى السوق والمنافسة. ومع ذلك ، هناك فرص لتجار التجزئة والمتاجر والمطاعم والفنادق لسد هذه الفجوة من خلال بناء علاقات جديدة مع المنتجين والموردين المحليين. يمكن أن يكون شيئًا بسيطًا مثل إعلام العميل عند المنضدة بشأن الشوكولاتة التي يشترونها من خلال تقديم قصص عن منتجي الشوكولاتة المحليين أو جودة إنتاجهم أو ممارساتهم الصحية.

يمكن القيام بشيء مشابه من خلال إقامة المؤسسات أو المطاعم أيضًا ، مثل بيع المنتجات الغذائية المحلية كهدايا تذكارية ، وبالتالي خلق تدفق جديد للإيرادات. لنا Food Travel Monitor أظهرت تقارير أبحاث السوق أن 70٪ من الأشخاص الذين شملهم الاستطلاع ذكروا أنهم يجلبون طعامًا أو شرابًا محليًا إلى المنزل كهدية. قد لا يبدو الأمر وكأنه يستحق العناء ، لكن الاقتصاد يثبت عكس ذلك.

قد يشتكي بعض الزوار من أن تكلفة منتجات الطهي المحلية أعلى ، لذلك عليك أن توضح لهم السبب. تشمل أسباب ارتفاع التكاليف المنتجات المصنوعة على دفعات أصغر ، والمنتجات المصنوعة يدويًا ، وارتفاع تكلفة مكونات المصدر ، والمنتجات ذات عملية التصنيع المعقدة أو كثيفة العمالة.

لمنحك مزيدًا من الوضوح حول هذا الموضوع والأفكار حول كيفية جعل الأطعمة المحلية الخاصة بك متاحة أكثر للزوار ، ندعوك لحضور "هل الطعام المحلي يأخذ مقعدًا خلفيًا للزوار؟" قدمه غابرييل لايس ، أستاذ إدارة الضيافة في جامعة IUBH الدولية في ألمانيا. تخصصه هو دمج الاستدامة مع الضيافة وفن الطهو. بصرف النظر عن خبرته في العمل مع العديد من شركات الضيافة ، فهو معروف أيضًا بالمشاركة في تنظيم المؤتمر الأول حول السياحة وأهداف التنمية المستدامة للأمم المتحدة (SDGs) في أوكلاند ، نيوزيلندا.

انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد عن هذه الجلسة وللتسجيل في قمة FoodTrex العالمية.

بقلم نيفيثيثا بهاراتي. حررت بواسطة Erik Wolf.

حصة في الفيسبوك
حصة على التغريد
حصة على LinkedIn
حصة على بينتيريست

Gabriel Laeis sustainability

Do Your Destination’s Local Foods Take a Back Seat?

Our previous article on bioregional foods reflected the importance of local foods as a tool to support sustainable development goals using food or beverage festivals. Some tourism destinations focus on their culinary culture, while others treat food as a mere necessity. Local foods do not always play the role they could, and should, for all types of travelers.

In destinations such as Spain, the United States, Ireland, Italy, and others, many tourists now expect that local food experiences are easy to find. Other tourists only view food as nothing more than a necessity. Some destinations ignore or downplay their local area’s culinary culture. Other destinations are simply unaware of the importance of their area’s culinary culture or don’t believe they actually have one.

At the World Food Travel Association, we seek to nurture sustainable culinary tourism development. The theme of this year’s FoodTrex Global Summit is sustainability in food tourism (or gastronomy tourism if you prefer).

Local food systems are one of the top economic contributors to any region. Any loss of tourist spending on local food products and experiences is a significant monetary loss to businesses and the area’s economy. Therefore, it is in a destination’s best interests to help visitors understand why they should buy local products.

When tourists indulge in local food experiences or buy from small independent businesses that sell locally sourced food products, that tourists’ spending is a fresh infusion of cash that stays in the destination up to 7 times longer than cash that is “exported” to the corporate headquarters of chains. Yet many tourists are apprehensive to try new food or beverage experiences. Their reasons vary, but the end result is the same – many of them prefer to “stick with what they know” and eat their meals in their international hotels or at chains whose names they recognize.

A major barrier concerning the sale of local foods is the lack of awareness and information available to tourists about local foods and safety practices. Tourists seek authenticity, and destinations and businesses can increase the value and appeal of local food products and experiences by presenting them in a way that is “palatable” to visitors.

The solution can be something as simple as adding information or signage that helps customers recognise if the product in question is locally produced. Or introduce a local cooking style or recipe in a magazine or video. And explain to visitors how many local people or families are supported by their spending at local businesses.

While promoting local foods, businesses also have further barriers due to pricing, market forces and competition. Nevertheless, there are opportunities for retailers, shops, restaurants and hotels to fill this gap by building new relationships with local producers and suppliers. It could be something as simple as letting know the customer at the counter about the chocolate they purchase by introducing stories about the local chocolate producers, their production quality or healthy practices.

Something similar can be done by lodging establishments or restaurants too, like selling local food products as souvenirs, thereby creating a new revenue stream. Our Food Travel Monitor market research reports showed that 70% of people surveyed stated that they bring local food or drink back home as a gift.  It may not sound like it is worth the trouble, but the economics prove otherwise.

Some visitors might complain that local culinary products cost more, so you need to show them why. Reasons for the higher costs include products made in smaller batches, products made by hand, higher cost of source ingredients, and products with an elaborate or labor-intensive manufacturing process.

To give you more clarity on this topic and ideas on how you can make your local foods more available to visitors, we invite you to attend “Is Local Food Taking A Back Seat For Visitors?” presented by Gabriel Laeis, a professor of Hospitality Management at Germany’s IUBH International University. His specialty is the integration of sustainability with hospitality and gastronomy. Apart from his experience working for several hospitality companies, he is also well known for co-organising the first conference on tourism and the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in Auckland, New Zealand.

Click here to learn more about this session and to register for FoodTrex Global Summit.

Written by Nivethitha Bharathi. Edited by Erik Wolf.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest