朱利安·贝尔穆德斯(JuliánBermúdez)

社会文化和经济可持续性问题迫使烹饪目的地管理发生变化

近年来,烹饪目的地获得了巨大的机会和增长。 独特的烹饪产品和体验的需求成倍增长,当地食品,葡萄酒和其他饮料在影响目的地选择方面起着关键作用。 因此,有理由推论,许多目的地经历的一些过度旅游也是由于这些奇妙的饮食体验。 考虑一下,游客要忍受3小时的等待,他们沉迷于曼谷米其林36星Raan Ja Fai街边小吃摊的1美元的螃蟹煎蛋卷中。 每天,热切的人群阻塞了街道,等待着珍贵的美食,这已成为全世界的头条新闻。

最近,人们越来越关注如何有效地管理烹饪目的地。 根据我们最近的 Food Travel Monitor 市场研究报告,“…53%的休闲旅行者是因为吃喝而选择下一个目的地。” 我们还知道,爱好美食的游客平均将其旅行预算的25%花费在餐饮上(对于美食旅行者和较昂贵的目的地而言,这个数字更高)。 也就是说,食品和饮料可以在地方和区域经济增长中发挥切实的作用。 因此,始终需要在与增长有关的问题之间进行制衡。

在中国、德国、意大利、韩国和美国的 World Food Travel Association,我们知道迫切需要一个论坛来讨论这些问题,并帮助世界各地的美食,旅游和酒店业以可持续的方式生存和发展。 我们邀请您参加我们即将举行的活动 FoodTrex全球峰会,于15月16日至XNUMX日举行。 可持续发展的主题及其在我们不断发展的烹饪文化中的作用在峰会上占据中心地位。

在后COVID时代,我们别无选择,只能了解我们如何管理酒店和旅游业,以及如何以可持续的方式改善我们的行业。 大流行严重削弱了我们行业先前预测的需求和增长。 由于封锁,旅行限制和恐惧,烹饪目的地和我们的酒店业有时面临致命的打击。 但是,隧道尽头有明亮的灯光!

烹饪目的地和企业正通过新计划和新想法稳步攀升,其中许多计划和构想都具有强大的可持续性特征。 以前,可持续性在很大程度上意味着环境问题。 现在我们知道经济和社会文化问题同样重要。 这就是行业所称的“人–地球–利润”。 特别是,烹饪目的地需要确定并克服威胁其发展的问题,并采取措施以不失去其烹饪文化的独特性。

尽管烹饪旅游业对当地经济产生了巨大的积极影响,但它也可能危及当地食品生态系统和供应链的可持续性。 过度旅游常常给已经遭受自然资源匮乏的社区带来困难。 由于当地经济缓慢转型以支持游客的需求,喜欢美食的旅行者的到来会促使一些社区丧失其文化认同。 例如,饭店开始以牺牲当地正宗的菜谱和风味为代价,开始优先考虑游客的口味。 许多烹饪目的地还面临商品和食品的价格上涨,这些商品和食品一度对他们来说负担得起。 这不是一条可持续的发展道路。

烹饪旅游业与可持续性有着内在的联系。 在我们的 ”2021年行业状况–餐饮旅游”报告,Royce Chwin,首席执行官 旅游温哥华 (加拿大)评论道:“ ...我们只需要找到余额即可。 没有无限的轨迹。 我们必须提防经济失忆,这将使我们忘记COVID之前的发展方向。” 整个烹饪目的地管理的概念应从了解文化背景,消费方式和当地人的喜好开始。

大流行造成的限制和局限迫使烹饪目的地必须设计有弹性的管理模型。 这些目的地和目的地营销人员应该记住,旅游活动在短期和长期内都可能产生积极和消极的影响。 他们的当地利益相关者(企业和企业家)也需要了解他们如何为解决方案做出贡献。

当我们努力追求更具可持续性的做法时,我们再也不会对这些问题视而不见。 现在期望行业专业人员获得技能和知识,以平衡美食旅游的利益,同时限制其潜在的负面影响。

为了解决这些问题,我们邀请JuliánBermúdez作为FoodTreX Global的发言人,以帮助您了解和计划这些关键的社会文化和经济问题。 朱利安(Julián)是食品系统创新的顾问和战略创新者,而可持续性是他计划的核心。 实际上,他的出色工作因在加泰罗尼亚开展美食旅游研究而获得了加泰罗尼亚政府的荣誉勋章。

单击此处了解有关本次会议的更多信息并注册FoodTrex全球峰会。

由Nivethitha Bharathi撰写。 编辑者 Erik Wolf.

在Facebook上分享
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
Share on pinterest

Julián Bermúdez

Sociocultural and Economic Sustainability Issues Force Changes to Culinary Destination Management

Culinary destinations have enjoyed enormous opportunities and growth in recent years. The demand for unique culinary products and experiences has increased exponentially, with local foods, wines, and other beverages playing a key role in influencing destination choice. It stands to reason then, that some of the overtourism that many destinations have experienced is also due to these wonderful food and beverage experiences. Consider the 3-hour wait that visitors endure to indulge in the US$36 crab omelet at the 1 Michelin star Raan Ja Fai street food stall in Bangkok. Every day, the eager crowds block the street, waiting for a precious taste of food that has made headlines around the world.

Recently, there has been increasing concern over how effectively culinary destinations are being managed. According to our most recent Food Travel Monitor market research report, “…53% of leisure travelers choose their next destination because of food and drink.” We also know that food-loving visitors spend on average 25% of their travel budgets on food and drink (the figure is higher for gourmet travelers and in more expensive destinations). That said, food and beverage can play a tangible role in local and regional economic growth. Consequently, there is a constant need for checks and balances among growth-related issues.

At the World Food Travel Association, we understand the immediate need for a forum to discuss these issues and help the world’s culinary, tourism and hospitality businesses to survive and grow in a sustainable way going forward. We invite you to attend our upcoming FoodTrex Global Summit, taking place April 15-16. The theme of sustainability and its role in our evolving culinary cultures takes center stage at the Summit.

In the post-COVID world, we have no choice but to understand how we manage hospitality and tourism and how we can improve our industry in a sustainable way. The pandemic has severely dampened the demand and growth that was predicted previously for our industry. Culinary destinations and our hospitality industry have sometimes faced a fatal blow because of lockdowns, travel restrictions and fear. But there is a bright light at the end of the tunnel!

Culinary destinations and businesses are steadily climbing back with new plans and ideas, many of which incorporate strong sustainability features. Previously, sustainability had meant largely environmental issues. And now we know that economic and sociocultural issues are equally as important. This is what industry refers to as “People – Planet – Profit”. And specifically, culinary destinations need to identify and overcome issues that threaten their growth and take steps not to lose the uniqueness of their culinary cultures.

Even though culinary tourism has a substantial positive impact on the local economy, it can also jeopardize the sustainability of the local food ecosystem and supply chain. Overtourism often leads to difficulties for communities that were already suffering from a lack of natural resources. The presence of food-loving travelers can push some communities towards losing their cultural identity as the local economy slowly transitions to support the needs and demands of tourists. For example, restaurants starting to prioritize the preferences of the tourist palette at the expense of authentic local recipes and flavours. Many culinary destinations also face price inflation of commodities and foods which were once very affordable for them. This is not a sustainable development path.

Culinary tourism and sustainability are inherently interconnected. In our “2021 State of the Industry – Food and Beverage Tourism” report, Royce Chwin, CEO of Tourism Vancouver (Canada), commented, “…we just need to find the balance. There is no infinite trajectory. We must beware of economic amnesia, which will cause us to forget where things were headed before COVID.” The entire concept of culinary destination management should start by understanding the cultural background and consumption patterns and preferences of locals.

The restrictions and limitations caused by the pandemic have forced culinary destinations to design resilient management models. Those destinations and destination marketers should keep in mind that tourism activities can have both positive and negative impacts, both in the short- and long-terms. And their local stakeholders (the businesses and entrepreneurs) need to be aware as well, of how they can contribute to the solution.

As we strive for more sustainable practices, we simply can no longer turn blind eye to these issues. Industry professionals are now expected to acquire the skills and knowledge to balance the benefits of gastronomy tourism while limiting its potential negative impacts.

To address these issues, we have invited Julián Bermúdez as a speaker at FoodTreX Global to help you understand and plan for these critical sociocultural and economic issues. Julián is a consultant and strategic innovator in food systems innovation, and sustainability is at the heart of his planning. In fact, his excellent work received a medal of honour from the Catalonia government for the development of gastronomy tourism research in Catalonia.

Click here to learn more about this session and to register for FoodTrex Global Summit.

Written by Nivethitha Bharathi. Edited by Erik Wolf.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest